ChatGPT or Microsoft Copilot: which to choose?
ChatGPT and Microsoft Copilot compared on what matters day to day: price, features, apps and privacy.
Data as of October 22, 2026
Side-by-side comparison
| Criterion | ChatGPT | Microsoft Copilot |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | OpenAI | Microsoft |
| Country | United States | United States |
| Launched | November 2022 | February 2023 |
| Free version | Yes, limited | Yes, limited |
| Plans | from $8 / month | from $9.99 / month |
| Web search | Yes | Yes |
| Agent mode | Yes | Not disclosed |
| File upload | Yes | Yes |
| Image generation | Yes | Yes |
| Voice mode | Yes | Yes |
| Memory | Yes | Yes |
| Code execution | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Autonomous browsing | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Web | Yes | Yes |
| iPhone | Yes | Yes |
| Android | Yes | Yes |
| Windows | Yes | Yes |
| macOS | Yes | Yes |
| Browser extension | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| French interface | Yes | Yes |
| Spanish interface | Yes | Yes |
| Opt out of training on your chats | Yes | Yes |
| Temporary chat | Yes | Not disclosed |
| EU data residency | Yes | Not disclosed |
Who are they?
ChatGPT is made by OpenAI, launched in 2022; Microsoft Copilot by Microsoft, launched in 2023. Both answer questions, write and summarise, but their plans, features and privacy rules differ.
ChatGPT runs on GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-6 Luna.
Survey carried out on October 22, 2026 from the official pages of both services.
Free or paid?
At a comparable entry plan, ChatGPT is the cheaper one. Higher tiers mostly add usage volume and advanced features.
- ChatGPT: limited free version
- Microsoft Copilot: limited free version
- ChatGPT: first paid plan at $8 per month
- Microsoft Copilot: first paid plan at $9.99 per month
Features
Both offer: web search, file upload, image generation, voice mode and memory.
Not confirmed for one of the two: agent mode.
In total, of the 8 features we track, 6 are confirmed for ChatGPT and 5 for Microsoft Copilot. A feature may only be available on a paid plan: check before you subscribe.
Platforms
Both available on: Web, iPhone, Android, Windows and macOS.
Privacy compared
Both allow: opt out of training on your chats.
In short
The best way to decide is still to try both free versions on the same task. To widen the choice, use the AI assistants comparison or the which-AI quiz.
- Choose ChatGPT for writing and rewriting.
- Choose Microsoft Copilot for creating images.
Other comparisons
Frequently asked questions
ChatGPT or Microsoft Copilot: which one is free?
ChatGPT: limited free version. Microsoft Copilot: limited free version.
Which one is cheaper?
ChatGPT has the cheaper entry-level paid plan. ChatGPT: first paid plan at $8 per month. Microsoft Copilot: first paid plan at $9.99 per month.
Which one protects my data best?
ChatGPT, with 3 of three safeguards confirmed (training opt-out, temporary chat, EU data residency), versus 1.
Which one should I choose?
Choose ChatGPT for writing and rewriting. Choose Microsoft Copilot for creating images.
Data sources
Data as of October 22, 2026
Report an error
Does a figure, a date or a fact look wrong? Tell us: every report is checked.