ChatGPT or Grok: which to choose?

ChatGPT and Grok compared on what matters day to day: price, features, apps and privacy.

Data as of October 22, 2026

Side-by-side comparison

CriterionChatGPTGrok
DeveloperOpenAISpaceXAI (xAI)
CountryUnited StatesUnited States
LaunchedNovember 2022Not disclosed
Free versionYes, limitedYes, limited
Plansfrom $8 / monthfrom $8 / month
Web searchYesYes
Agent modeYesYes
File uploadYesYes
Image generationYesYes
Voice modeYesYes
MemoryYesYes
Code executionNot disclosedNot disclosed
Autonomous browsingNot disclosedNot disclosed
WebYesYes
iPhoneYesYes
AndroidYesYes
WindowsYesNot disclosed
macOSYesYes
Browser extensionNot disclosedNot disclosed
French interfaceYesNot disclosed
Spanish interfaceYesNot disclosed
Opt out of training on your chatsYesYes
Temporary chatYesYes
EU data residencyYesNot disclosed

Two assistants head to head

ChatGPT is made by OpenAI, launched in 2022; Grok by SpaceXAI (xAI). Both answer questions, write and summarise, but their plans, features and privacy rules differ.

ChatGPT runs on GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-6 Luna; Grok runs on Grok 4.7.

Survey carried out on October 22, 2026 from the official pages of both services.

How much does it cost?

  • ChatGPT: limited free version
  • Grok: limited free version
  • ChatGPT: first paid plan at $8 per month
  • Grok: first paid plan at $8 per month

Features

Both offer: web search, agent mode, file upload, image generation, voice mode and memory.

In total, of the 8 features we track, 6 are confirmed for ChatGPT and 6 for Grok. A feature may only be available on a paid plan: check before you subscribe.

Apps and languages

Both available on: Web, iPhone, Android and macOS.

Privacy compared

Both allow: opt out of training on your chats and temporary chat.

In short

The best way to decide is still to try both free versions on the same task. To widen the choice, use the AI assistants comparison or the which-AI quiz.

  • Choose ChatGPT for teamwork.
  • Choose Grok for creating images.

Other comparisons

Frequently asked questions

ChatGPT or Grok: which one is free?

ChatGPT: limited free version. Grok: limited free version.

Which one is cheaper?

A direct comparison is not possible (unpriced plan or different currencies). ChatGPT: first paid plan at $8 per month. Grok: first paid plan at $8 per month.

Which one protects my data best?

ChatGPT, with 3 of three safeguards confirmed (training opt-out, temporary chat, EU data residency), versus 2.

Which one should I choose?

Choose ChatGPT for teamwork. Choose Grok for creating images.

Data sources

Data as of October 22, 2026

Report an error

Does a figure, a date or a fact look wrong? Tell us: every report is checked.