ChatGPT vs Lumo
ChatGPT and Lumo compared on what matters day to day: price, features, apps and privacy.
Data as of October 22, 2026
Side-by-side comparison
| Criterion | ChatGPT | Lumo |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | OpenAI | Proton AG |
| Country | United States | Switzerland |
| Launched | November 2022 | July 2025 |
| Free version | Yes, limited | Yes, limited |
| Plans | from $8 / month | from $12.99 / month |
| Web search | Yes | Yes |
| Agent mode | Yes | Not disclosed |
| File upload | Yes | Yes |
| Image generation | Yes | Yes |
| Voice mode | Yes | Yes |
| Memory | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Code execution | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Autonomous browsing | Not disclosed | No |
| Web | Yes | Yes |
| iPhone | Yes | Yes |
| Android | Yes | Yes |
| Windows | Yes | Not disclosed |
| macOS | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Browser extension | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| French interface | Yes | Yes |
| Spanish interface | Yes | Yes |
| Opt out of training on your chats | Yes | Yes |
| Temporary chat | Yes | Yes |
| EU data residency | Yes | Not disclosed |
The match-up at a glance
ChatGPT is made by OpenAI, launched in 2022; Lumo by Proton AG, launched in 2025. Both answer questions, write and summarise, but their plans, features and privacy rules differ.
ChatGPT runs on GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-6 Luna; Lumo runs on Qwen 3.5, GLM 5.3, Apertus 1.5 and Image-Turbo.
ChatGPT’s developer is based in: United States. Lumo’s developer is based in: Switzerland.
Survey carried out on October 22, 2026 from the official pages of both services.
Free or paid?
At a comparable entry plan, ChatGPT is the cheaper one. Higher tiers mostly add usage volume and advanced features.
- ChatGPT: limited free version
- Lumo: limited free version
- ChatGPT: first paid plan at $8 per month
- Lumo: first paid plan at $12.99 per month
Features compared
Both offer: web search, file upload, image generation and voice mode.
Not confirmed for one of the two: agent mode and memory.
In total, of the 8 features we track, 6 are confirmed for ChatGPT and 4 for Lumo. A feature may only be available on a paid plan: check before you subscribe.
Where to use them
Both available on: Web, iPhone and Android.
Privacy compared
Both allow: opt out of training on your chats and temporary chat.
In short
The best way to decide is still to try both free versions on the same task. To widen the choice, use the AI assistants comparison or the which-AI quiz.
- Choose ChatGPT for teamwork.
Other comparisons
Frequently asked questions
ChatGPT or Lumo: which one is free?
ChatGPT: limited free version. Lumo: limited free version.
Which one is cheaper?
ChatGPT has the cheaper entry-level paid plan. ChatGPT: first paid plan at $8 per month. Lumo: first paid plan at $12.99 per month.
Which one protects my data best?
ChatGPT, with 3 of three safeguards confirmed (training opt-out, temporary chat, EU data residency), versus 2.
Which one should I choose?
Choose ChatGPT for teamwork.
Data sources
Data as of October 22, 2026
Report an error
Does a figure, a date or a fact look wrong? Tell us: every report is checked.