ChatGPT vs Qwen Chat
ChatGPT and Qwen Chat compared on what matters day to day: price, features, apps and privacy.
Data as of October 22, 2026
Side-by-side comparison
| Criterion | ChatGPT | Qwen Chat |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | OpenAI | Alibaba (équipe Qwen) |
| Country | United States | China |
| Launched | November 2022 | Not disclosed |
| Free version | Yes, limited | Yes |
| Plans | from $8 / month | Not disclosed |
| Web search | Yes | Yes |
| Agent mode | Yes | Not disclosed |
| File upload | Yes | Yes |
| Image generation | Yes | Yes |
| Voice mode | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Memory | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Code execution | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Autonomous browsing | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Web | Yes | Yes |
| iPhone | Yes | Yes |
| Android | Yes | Yes |
| Windows | Yes | Yes |
| macOS | Yes | Yes |
| Browser extension | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| French interface | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Spanish interface | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Opt out of training on your chats | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Temporary chat | Yes | Not disclosed |
| EU data residency | Yes | No |
Two assistants head to head
ChatGPT is made by OpenAI, launched in 2022; Qwen Chat by Alibaba (équipe Qwen). Both answer questions, write and summarise, but their plans, features and privacy rules differ.
ChatGPT runs on GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-6 Luna; Qwen Chat runs on Qwen3.8.
ChatGPT’s developer is based in: United States. Qwen Chat’s developer is based in: China.
Survey carried out on October 22, 2026 from the official pages of both services.
How much does it cost?
- ChatGPT: limited free version
- Qwen Chat: full free version
- ChatGPT: first paid plan at $8 per month
- Qwen Chat: no publicly priced paid plan
Features compared
Both offer: web search, file upload and image generation.
Not confirmed for one of the two: agent mode, voice mode and memory.
In total, of the 8 features we track, 6 are confirmed for ChatGPT and 3 for Qwen Chat. A feature may only be available on a paid plan: check before you subscribe.
Apps and languages
Both available on: Web, iPhone, Android, Windows and macOS.
Privacy compared
Only ChatGPT offers: eu data residency.
In short
The best way to decide is still to try both free versions on the same task. To widen the choice, use the AI assistants comparison or the which-AI quiz.
- Choose ChatGPT for finding sourced information and teamwork.
- Choose Qwen Chat for coding and creating images.
Other comparisons
Frequently asked questions
ChatGPT or Qwen Chat: which one is free?
ChatGPT: limited free version. Qwen Chat: full free version.
Which one is cheaper?
A direct comparison is not possible (unpriced plan or different currencies). ChatGPT: first paid plan at $8 per month. Qwen Chat: no publicly priced paid plan.
Which one protects my data best?
ChatGPT, with 3 of three safeguards confirmed (training opt-out, temporary chat, EU data residency), versus 0.
Which one should I choose?
Choose ChatGPT for finding sourced information and teamwork. Choose Qwen Chat for coding and creating images.
Data sources
Data as of October 22, 2026
Report an error
Does a figure, a date or a fact look wrong? Tell us: every report is checked.