Le Chat by Mistral AI, now Mistral Vibe: the French AI assistant
Le Chat is the AI assistant from French company Mistral AI, renamed Vibe in 2026 at the same address. It stands out for hosting data in the European Union by default and for a Pro plan priced below most US rivals.
Data as of October 22, 2026
Key figures
| Developer | Mistral AI |
|---|---|
| Country | France |
| Launched | February 2024 |
| Free version | Yes, limited |
| Plans | from $5.99 per month |
| Official website | chat.mistral.ai |
Features
| Features | |
|---|---|
| Web search | Yes |
| Agent mode | Yes |
| File upload | Yes |
| Image generation | Yes |
| Voice mode | Yes |
| Memory | Yes |
| Code execution | Yes |
| Autonomous browsing | Not disclosed |
Where to use it
| Where to use it | |
|---|---|
| Web | Yes |
| iPhone | Yes |
| Android | Yes |
| Windows | Not disclosed |
| macOS | Not disclosed |
| Browser extension | Not disclosed |
| French interface | Yes |
| Spanish interface | Yes |
Privacy
| Privacy | |
|---|---|
| Opt out of training on your chats | Yes |
| Temporary chat | Not disclosed |
| EU data residency | Yes |
Le Chat gets a new name
Mistral AI launched Le Chat in February 2024. In 2026 the assistant became Vibe and is now organized into three spaces: Chat for conversation, Work for office tasks with connectors to your tools, and Code for programming, with a command-line tool and a VS Code extension. The address stays the same and your history is kept.
Behind it is Mistral AI, a Paris-based lab known for releasing some of its models as open weights. Vibe searches the web, runs deep research, generates images, understands voice, remembers your preferences and executes code.
Plans
| Plan | Price (excl. tax) | Highlights |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Limited messages and searches, basic images, 100+ connectors |
| Pro | $14.99 a month | Extended usage, $15 of API credits included each month |
| Student | $5.99 a month | Verified students, up to 12 months |
| Team | $24.99 per user per month | Shared workspace, $50 a month minimum |
An Enterprise plan is available on quote. The free version covers the essentials, but its caps on messages, searches and coding sessions show up quickly with daily use. Prices are shown in dollars by default and exclude tax, so the amount you actually pay depends on your country.
EU data, training to switch off
Hosting data in the EU by default makes GDPR compliance simpler, a real plus for freelancers and small businesses. Note, though, that on Free, Pro and Student your chats may be used for training until you opt out. Go to Privacy and turn off “Allow your interactions to be used to train our models”. Team and Enterprise come under separate business terms.
Before you choose
Like any assistant, Vibe can state things that are wrong, so check its answers on sensitive topics. To weigh it against ChatGPT or Claude, use the AI assistants comparison. Official prices are on Mistral AI’s pricing page.
Strengths
writing · teamwork · coding
Comparisons
AI assistants
- Apple Intelligence et Siri AI · Apple
- Brave Leo · Brave Software
- Character.AI · Character Technologies, Inc.
- ChatGPT · OpenAI
- Claude · Anthropic
- Microsoft Copilot · Microsoft
Frequently asked questions
Does Le Chat still exist?
Yes, under a new name. Mistral AI renamed Le Chat to Vibe (Mistral Vibe) in 2026. The chat.mistral.ai address is unchanged, and accounts and conversations were carried over.
How much does Mistral Vibe cost?
As of October 22, 2026, the pricing page lists a free plan, Pro at $14.99 a month, Student at $5.99 a month (up to 12 months) and Team at $24.99 per user per month, excluding tax. The page can also show prices in euros.
Does Mistral train its models on my conversations?
By default, yes, on the Free, Pro and Student plans. You can opt out under Privacy by turning off “Allow your interactions to be used to train our models”. On mobile, the setting is called “Enable data sharing”.
Where is my data stored?
Mistral AI says data is hosted in the European Union by default. That sets it apart from US assistants, which usually process consumer data outside Europe.
Data sources
Data as of October 22, 2026
Report an error
Does a figure, a date or a fact look wrong? Tell us: every report is checked.