Apple Intelligence and Siri AI: the AI built into Apple devices

Apple Intelligence is Apple's umbrella for AI features on iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch and Vision Pro. Since 2026 it includes Siri AI, a rebuilt Siri that understands your personal context and can take action inside your apps.

Data as of October 22, 2026

Key figures

DeveloperApple
CountryUnited States
LaunchedOctober 2024
Free versionYes
Official websiteapple.com

Features

Features
Web searchYes
Agent modeYes
File uploadNot disclosed
Image generationYes
Voice modeYes
MemoryNot disclosed
Code executionNot disclosed
Autonomous browsingNo

Where to use it

Where to use it
WebNo
iPhoneYes
AndroidNo
WindowsNo
macOSYes
Browser extensionNo
French interfaceYes
Spanish interfaceYes

Privacy

Privacy
Opt out of training on your chatsNot disclosed
Temporary chatNot disclosed
EU data residencyNot disclosed

Two things under one name

Apple Intelligence covers the AI tools built into Apple’s systems since October 2024:

  • Writing Tools to rewrite, proofread and summarize in any app;
  • Image Playground and Genmoji for image generation;
  • Visual Intelligence, which makes sense of what your camera sees or what’s on screen;
  • Live Translation and the Clean Up photo tool.

Siri AI, unveiled in June 2026, is the next generation of Siri. It moves from a command-based voice assistant to a genuine AI assistant: it draws on your personal context (messages, calendar, files), answers general knowledge questions, understands what’s on screen, acts inside apps and searches the web. It also has a dedicated app, with history synced through iCloud.

Devices and languages

Hardware is the real barrier. Apple lists these as compatible: iPhone 15 Pro and Pro Max, iPhone 16 and later (including iPhone Air and iPhone Duo), iPad mini with A17 Pro, iPads and Macs with M1 or later, MacBook Neo, Apple Vision Pro, and Apple Watch Series 9 or later.

Apple Intelligence supports Chinese, Danish, Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish and Vietnamese. Siri AI, in beta across iOS 27, macOS 27 and the other version 27 platforms, started in English only. It’s off-limits to under-13s and isn’t offered in China.

The EU gets a partial launch

In the European Union, Siri AI initially runs only on Mac and Apple Vision Pro, not on iPhone, iPad or Apple Watch. The pages we checked give no date for lifting that restriction. For a European iPhone owner, the practical value for now lies in the rest of Apple Intelligence.

Privacy and limits

Apple’s approach rests on on-device processing and Private Cloud Compute. It’s a strong pitch, but it remains the company’s own commitment: compliance with GDPR and real-world behavior depend on Apple’s statements and the audits it points to. Siri AI is in beta, so expect mistakes, especially when it acts inside apps. To compare with a home assistant like Alexa+ or with general chatbots, see our AI assistants comparison.

Official page: Apple Intelligence.

Models used

Strengths

writing · acting on your behalf

AI assistants

Frequently asked questions

Does Apple Intelligence cost anything?

No. Apple Intelligence and Siri AI ship with Apple's operating systems at no charge. You do need a compatible device, such as an iPhone 15 Pro or newer, or a Mac with an M1 chip or later.

Which languages does Siri AI support?

Siri AI launched in beta in English. Apple has announced French, Spanish, Japanese, Korean and Portuguese for October 2026, while the rest of Apple Intelligence already covers around fifteen languages.

Can I use Siri AI on an iPhone in the EU?

Not at launch. According to Apple, Siri AI works in the European Union on Mac and Apple Vision Pro, but not initially on iPhone, iPad or Apple Watch. Other Apple Intelligence features remain available there.

Does my data go to Apple?

Some processing happens directly on the device. Heavier requests go to Private Cloud Compute, where Apple says your data is neither stored nor accessible to Apple, and independent experts can inspect how it works.

Data sources

Data as of October 22, 2026

Report an error

Does a figure, a date or a fact look wrong? Tell us: every report is checked.