Claude: Anthropic's assistant for writing, analysis and code

Claude is the AI assistant built by Anthropic, known for strong writing, long-document analysis and programming. It comes as a free plan plus Pro and Max subscriptions, with clear controls over how your conversations are used.

Data as of October 22, 2026

Key figures

DeveloperAnthropic
CountryUnited States
LaunchedJuly 2023
Free versionYes, limited
Plansfrom $20 per month
Official websiteclaude.ai

Features

Features
Web searchYes
Agent modeYes
File uploadYes
Image generationNot disclosed
Voice modeNot disclosed
MemoryYes
Code executionYes
Autonomous browsingYes

Where to use it

Where to use it
WebYes
iPhoneYes
AndroidYes
WindowsYes
macOSYes
Browser extensionYes
French interfaceYes
Spanish interfaceYes

Privacy

Privacy
Opt out of training on your chatsYes
Temporary chatYes
EU data residencyNot disclosed

What sets Claude apart

Claude is developed by Anthropic, a US company founded by former OpenAI researchers. The assistant runs on Claude Opus 5.5, Sonnet 5.5 and Haiku 5.5, the models listed on the official pricing page as of October 22, 2026. Its large context window lets it work through long material: reports, contracts, transcripts, entire codebases.

Day to day, Claude drafts and edits, summarizes, compares documents, creates files (spreadsheets, slides, documents) and runs code to analyze data. Artifacts show the output next to the chat, which makes it easy to tweak a text or a small app. In 2026 Anthropic also folded background task delegation into Claude, moving it closer to a true AI agent.

Free, Pro or Max: how to choose

  • Free ($0): web, desktop and mobile, web search, file creation, code execution, memory, app connections;
  • Pro ($20 a month, or $17 a month billed annually): more usage, scheduled tasks, Claude Code, Projects, more models, Chrome and Microsoft 365 extensions;
  • Max (from $100 a month): 5x or 20x Pro usage, priority at peak times, early access to new features.

In practice, the free plan works for occasional use, but long documents can burn through its limits quickly. Pro makes sense if you use Claude for several hours a week or want to code with Claude Code.

Your chats and model training

On individual plans, Anthropic lets you opt out of training on your conversations from your account’s privacy settings. Incognito chats are never used to improve the models. Team and Enterprise plans don’t train on your data by default. Anthropic’s pricing page doesn’t mention EU data hosting for individual users, so if you’re in Europe, keep GDPR in mind before pasting other people’s personal data.

Limits worth knowing

Claude is not a substitute for human checking: it can be confidently wrong. Anthropic doesn’t publish exact numbers for the free plan’s usage limits, and some features (Claude Code, the Chrome extension) are for subscribers only. To see how it stacks up, the AI assistants comparison applies the same criteria to every service. Official pricing lives at claude.com/pricing.

Models used

Strengths

writing · teamwork · coding

Comparisons

AI assistants

Frequently asked questions

What does Claude's free plan include?

As of October 22, 2026, the Free plan includes chat on web, desktop and mobile, web search, file creation, code execution, memory across conversations and connecting your apps. Usage is capped and resets regularly.

How much is Claude Pro?

Claude Pro costs $20 a month billed monthly, or $17 a month with an annual plan ($200 up front), before tax. It adds more usage, Claude Code, Projects and the Claude in Chrome extension.

Does Anthropic train on my Claude chats?

On individual plans (Free, Pro, Max), you can opt out of model training in your privacy settings. Incognito chats are never used to improve Claude. Team and Enterprise plans are not used for training by default.

Max 5x or Max 20x: which one do I need?

Both Max plans start at $100 a month and give you 5x or 20x the usage of Pro, plus priority access at peak times. The 20x tier costs more, so check the price shown in your account. Most people should try Pro first.

Data sources

Data as of October 22, 2026

Report an error

Does a figure, a date or a fact look wrong? Tell us: every report is checked.