ChatGPT versus Duck.ai
ChatGPT and Duck.ai compared on what matters day to day: price, features, apps and privacy.
Data as of October 22, 2026
Side-by-side comparison
| Criterion | ChatGPT | Duck.ai |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | OpenAI | DuckDuckGo |
| Country | United States | United States |
| Launched | November 2022 | Not disclosed |
| Free version | Yes, limited | Yes, limited |
| Plans | from $8 / month | from $9.99 / month |
| Web search | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Agent mode | Yes | Not disclosed |
| File upload | Yes | Yes |
| Image generation | Yes | Yes |
| Voice mode | Yes | Yes |
| Memory | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Code execution | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Autonomous browsing | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Web | Yes | Yes |
| iPhone | Yes | Yes |
| Android | Yes | Yes |
| Windows | Yes | Yes |
| macOS | Yes | Yes |
| Browser extension | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| French interface | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Spanish interface | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Opt out of training on your chats | Yes | Yes |
| Temporary chat | Yes | Yes |
| EU data residency | Yes | Not disclosed |
The match-up at a glance
ChatGPT is made by OpenAI, launched in 2022; Duck.ai by DuckDuckGo. Both answer questions, write and summarise, but their plans, features and privacy rules differ.
ChatGPT runs on GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-6 Luna; Duck.ai runs on Claude Haiku 4.5, Mistral Small 4, GPT-6 Luna and GPT-5.4 mini.
Survey carried out on October 22, 2026 from the official pages of both services.
Price and free version
At a comparable entry plan, ChatGPT is the cheaper one. Higher tiers mostly add usage volume and advanced features.
- ChatGPT: limited free version
- Duck.ai: limited free version
- ChatGPT: first paid plan at $8 per month
- Duck.ai: first paid plan at $9.99 per month
What they can do
Both offer: file upload, image generation and voice mode.
Not confirmed for one of the two: web search, agent mode and memory.
In total, of the 8 features we track, 6 are confirmed for ChatGPT and 3 for Duck.ai. A feature may only be available on a paid plan: check before you subscribe.
Platforms
Both available on: Web, iPhone, Android, Windows and macOS.
Privacy compared
Both allow: opt out of training on your chats and temporary chat.
In short
The best way to decide is still to try both free versions on the same task. To widen the choice, use the AI assistants comparison or the which-AI quiz.
- Choose ChatGPT for teamwork.
Other comparisons
Frequently asked questions
ChatGPT or Duck.ai: which one is free?
ChatGPT: limited free version. Duck.ai: limited free version.
Which one is cheaper?
ChatGPT has the cheaper entry-level paid plan. ChatGPT: first paid plan at $8 per month. Duck.ai: first paid plan at $9.99 per month.
Which one protects my data best?
ChatGPT, with 3 of three safeguards confirmed (training opt-out, temporary chat, EU data residency), versus 2.
Which one should I choose?
Choose ChatGPT for teamwork.
Data sources
Data as of October 22, 2026
Report an error
Does a figure, a date or a fact look wrong? Tell us: every report is checked.