Duck.ai: chat with AI models without being tracked

Duck.ai is DuckDuckGo's AI chat service: it gives you free access to several models from OpenAI, Anthropic, Mistral and others while anonymizing your requests. No account is needed, and your chats are not used for training.

Data as of October 22, 2026

Key figures

DeveloperDuckDuckGo
CountryUnited States
LaunchedNot disclosed
Free versionYes, limited
Plansfrom $9.99 per month
Official websiteduck.ai

Features

Features
Web searchNot disclosed
Agent modeNot disclosed
File uploadYes
Image generationYes
Voice modeYes
MemoryNot disclosed
Code executionNot disclosed
Autonomous browsingNot disclosed

Where to use it

Where to use it
WebYes
iPhoneYes
AndroidYes
WindowsYes
macOSYes
Browser extensionNot disclosed
French interfaceNot disclosed
Spanish interfaceNot disclosed

Privacy

Privacy
Opt out of training on your chatsYes
Temporary chatYes
EU data residencyNot disclosed

How it works: a middleman that anonymizes

Duck.ai has no in-house model. It sits between you and several third-party AI models, stripping out metadata that could identify you, such as your IP address. As of October 22, 2026, the free version lets you pick from Claude Haiku 4.5 by Anthropic, Mistral Small 4 by Mistral AI, GPT-6 Luna and GPT-5.4 mini by OpenAI, plus gpt-oss-120b and Gemma 4 31B hosted by Tinfoil in an isolated hardware environment.

It works in any browser with no account, and inside the DuckDuckGo browser on iOS, Android, Mac and Windows. It accepts image and PDF uploads (15 pages on the free tier), creates images and offers voice chat.

What DuckDuckGo promises

DuckDuckGo says it does not store your chats and never uses them for training. Agreements with providers require them to delete prompts and replies right after generating a response, not to train on them and not to share them for commercial purposes. The exceptions are documented: prompt caching for up to one hour at OpenAI and Anthropic, and possible retention at Anthropic where the law requires it. For voice, audio is processed by OpenAI and deleted when the session ends.

These commitments greatly reduce the risk, but they are not a reason to drop your guard: keep highly sensitive data out of it. Our GDPR entry covers the basic precautions.

Free or subscriber?

The free version has a daily limit. The DuckDuckGo subscription, available to residents of the US, the UK, the EU and Canada, costs $9.99 a month for Plus and $19.99 for Pro as of October 22, 2026. Plus adds GPT-5.6 Terra and Claude Sonnet 4.6; Pro adds Claude Opus 4.8 and GPT-5.6 Sol, higher reasoning effort and double the limits. The subscription also bundles a VPN and other services.

Duck.ai remains a chat tool, with no documented agent mode. For AI agent use, look at other options in the AI assistants comparison. The official help pages keep the model list up to date.

Models used

Strengths

writing · searching with sources

Comparisons

AI assistants

Frequently asked questions

Is Duck.ai really free?

Yes, with no account, but there is a daily usage limit. DuckDuckGo subscribers get higher limits and access to more advanced models.

Can AI providers tell who I am?

Not according to DuckDuckGo: your IP address is removed, so requests reach OpenAI, Anthropic or Mistral as if they came from DuckDuckGo. Only the date, your time zone and unit system are shared; an approximate city is sent only if you turn that setting on.

How much is the DuckDuckGo subscription?

As of October 22, 2026, Plus costs $9.99 a month ($99.99 a year) and Pro $19.99 a month ($199.99 a year) in the US; the UK price is £9.99 and £19.99 a month. The subscription also includes a VPN, and Duck.ai cannot be bought on its own.

Are my chats saved?

DuckDuckGo does not store your chats. History is kept on your device, and you can turn it off, wipe it with the Fire Button, or sync it with end-to-end encryption.

Data sources

Data as of October 22, 2026

Report an error

Does a figure, a date or a fact look wrong? Tell us: every report is checked.