Claude or Grok: which to choose?
Claude and Grok compared on what matters day to day: price, features, apps and privacy.
Data as of October 22, 2026
Side-by-side comparison
| Criterion | Claude | Grok |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Anthropic | SpaceXAI (xAI) |
| Country | United States | United States |
| Launched | July 2023 | Not disclosed |
| Free version | Yes, limited | Yes, limited |
| Plans | from $20 / month | from $8 / month |
| Web search | Yes | Yes |
| Agent mode | Yes | Yes |
| File upload | Yes | Yes |
| Image generation | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Voice mode | Not disclosed | Yes |
| Memory | Yes | Yes |
| Code execution | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Autonomous browsing | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Web | Yes | Yes |
| iPhone | Yes | Yes |
| Android | Yes | Yes |
| Windows | Yes | Not disclosed |
| macOS | Yes | Yes |
| Browser extension | Yes | Not disclosed |
| French interface | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Spanish interface | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Opt out of training on your chats | Yes | Yes |
| Temporary chat | Yes | Yes |
| EU data residency | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
The match-up at a glance
Claude is made by Anthropic, launched in 2023; Grok by SpaceXAI (xAI). Both answer questions, write and summarise, but their plans, features and privacy rules differ.
Claude runs on Claude Opus 5.5, Claude Sonnet 5.5 and Claude Haiku 5.5; Grok runs on Grok 4.7.
Survey carried out on October 22, 2026 from the official pages of both services.
How much does it cost?
At a comparable entry plan, Grok is the cheaper one. Higher tiers mostly add usage volume and advanced features.
- Claude: limited free version
- Grok: limited free version
- Claude: first paid plan at $20 per month
- Grok: first paid plan at $8 per month
What they can do
Both offer: web search, agent mode, file upload and memory.
Not confirmed for one of the two: image generation, voice mode, code execution and autonomous browsing.
In total, of the 8 features we track, 6 are confirmed for Claude and 6 for Grok. A feature may only be available on a paid plan: check before you subscribe.
Apps and languages
Both available on: Web, iPhone, Android and macOS.
Your data
Both allow: opt out of training on your chats and temporary chat.
In short
The best way to decide is still to try both free versions on the same task. To widen the choice, use the AI assistants comparison or the which-AI quiz.
- Choose Claude for teamwork and coding.
- Choose Grok for finding sourced information and creating images.
Other comparisons
Frequently asked questions
Claude or Grok: which one is free?
Claude: limited free version. Grok: limited free version.
Which one is cheaper?
Grok has the cheaper entry-level paid plan. Claude: first paid plan at $20 per month. Grok: first paid plan at $8 per month.
Which one protects my data best?
Our survey does not separate them: 2 of three safeguards confirmed on each side (training opt-out, temporary chat, EU data residency).
Which one should I choose?
Choose Claude for teamwork and coding. Choose Grok for finding sourced information and creating images.
Data sources
Data as of October 22, 2026
Report an error
Does a figure, a date or a fact look wrong? Tell us: every report is checked.