ChatGPT versus Kimi
ChatGPT and Kimi compared on what matters day to day: price, features, apps and privacy.
Data as of October 22, 2026
Side-by-side comparison
| Criterion | ChatGPT | Kimi |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | OpenAI | Moonshot AI |
| Country | United States | China |
| Launched | November 2022 | Not disclosed |
| Free version | Yes, limited | Yes, limited |
| Plans | from $8 / month | from $19 / month |
| Web search | Yes | Yes |
| Agent mode | Yes | Yes |
| File upload | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Image generation | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Voice mode | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Memory | Yes | Yes |
| Code execution | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Autonomous browsing | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
| Web | Yes | Yes |
| iPhone | Yes | Yes |
| Android | Yes | Yes |
| Windows | Yes | Yes |
| macOS | Yes | Yes |
| Browser extension | Not disclosed | Yes |
| French interface | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Spanish interface | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Opt out of training on your chats | Yes | Not disclosed |
| Temporary chat | Yes | Not disclosed |
| EU data residency | Yes | Not disclosed |
Who are they?
ChatGPT is made by OpenAI, launched in 2022; Kimi by Moonshot AI. Both answer questions, write and summarise, but their plans, features and privacy rules differ.
ChatGPT runs on GPT-6 Astra, GPT-6.1 Sol and GPT-6 Luna; Kimi runs on Kimi K3, Kimi K2.7 Code and Kimi K2.6.
ChatGPT’s developer is based in: United States. Kimi’s developer is based in: China.
Survey carried out on October 22, 2026 from the official pages of both services.
Free or paid?
At a comparable entry plan, ChatGPT is the cheaper one. Higher tiers mostly add usage volume and advanced features.
- ChatGPT: limited free version
- Kimi: limited free version
- ChatGPT: first paid plan at $8 per month
- Kimi: first paid plan at $19 per month
Features
Both offer: web search, agent mode and memory.
Not confirmed for one of the two: file upload, image generation and voice mode.
In total, of the 8 features we track, 6 are confirmed for ChatGPT and 3 for Kimi. A feature may only be available on a paid plan: check before you subscribe.
Platforms
Both available on: Web, iPhone, Android, Windows and macOS.
Privacy compared
No privacy guarantee is confirmed on either side in our survey: read the terms before sharing sensitive data.
In short
The best way to decide is still to try both free versions on the same task. To widen the choice, use the AI assistants comparison or the which-AI quiz.
- Choose ChatGPT for writing and rewriting and finding sourced information.
- Choose Kimi for acting on your behalf (agent) and coding.
Other comparisons
Frequently asked questions
ChatGPT or Kimi: which one is free?
ChatGPT: limited free version. Kimi: limited free version.
Which one is cheaper?
ChatGPT has the cheaper entry-level paid plan. ChatGPT: first paid plan at $8 per month. Kimi: first paid plan at $19 per month.
Which one protects my data best?
ChatGPT, with 3 of three safeguards confirmed (training opt-out, temporary chat, EU data residency), versus 0.
Which one should I choose?
Choose ChatGPT for writing and rewriting and finding sourced information. Choose Kimi for acting on your behalf (agent) and coding.
Data sources
Data as of October 22, 2026
Report an error
Does a figure, a date or a fact look wrong? Tell us: every report is checked.