Kimi: Moonshot AI's agent-first assistant
Kimi is the AI assistant from Chinese startup Moonshot AI, powered by its Kimi K3 models. It is built for long-running work: agents, in-depth research, documents, slides and code.
Data as of October 22, 2026
Key figures
| Developer | Moonshot AI |
|---|---|
| Country | China |
| Launched | Not disclosed |
| Free version | Yes, limited |
| Plans | from $19 per month |
| Official website | kimi.com |
Features
| Features | |
|---|---|
| Web search | Yes |
| Agent mode | Yes |
| File upload | Not disclosed |
| Image generation | Not disclosed |
| Voice mode | Not disclosed |
| Memory | Yes |
| Code execution | Not disclosed |
| Autonomous browsing | Not disclosed |
Where to use it
| Where to use it | |
|---|---|
| Web | Yes |
| iPhone | Yes |
| Android | Yes |
| Windows | Yes |
| macOS | Yes |
| Browser extension | Yes |
| French interface | Not disclosed |
| Spanish interface | Not disclosed |
Privacy
| Privacy | |
|---|---|
| Opt out of training on your chats | Not disclosed |
| Temporary chat | Not disclosed |
| EU data residency | Not disclosed |
From chat to agents
Kimi can chat, search the web and analyze your content, but Moonshot AI mainly positions it as an AI agent tool: you describe a goal and Kimi works through the steps to deliver a report, a slide deck, a spreadsheet or even a website it can deploy. Agent Swarm splits the work across several agents, and Goal mode keeps pursuing an objective over time. You also get Deep Research, scheduled tasks, memory and Kimi Code, which runs in your terminal or code editor.
The announced models are Kimi K3, Kimi K2.7 Code and Kimi K2.6. On the Max and Ultra plans, the context window reaches up to one million tokens, enough to work through very large amounts of text.
Plans priced in dollars, from $19 to $199
As of October 22, 2026, the international pricing page offers four monthly tiers: Plus at $19, Pro at $39, Max at $99 and Ultra at $199. With annual billing, the monthly price drops to $15, $31, $79 and $159. Each tier multiplies the credits that agent tasks consume. Separate plans priced in yuan exist for China.
In practice, the free tier is enough to try one agent task and a few chats. For regular agent use you will need a subscription; the AI cost calculator helps you compare with paying for the models directly through an API.
Privacy: what to know
This is the main caveat. The privacy policy on kimi.com, in force since August 31, 2026, comes from Beijing Moonshot Technology and is governed by Chinese law. It allows content to be used for training unless you contact customer service, and memory can be switched off. The text does not clearly separate the rules that apply to users in Europe or North America.
Kimi is available from Europe, but avoid sharing other people’s personal data or confidential documents with it. To weigh Kimi against DeepSeek and other assistants, check the official pricing page and compare each service’s safeguards.
Models used
Strengths
teamwork · acting on your behalf · coding
Comparisons
AI assistants
- Alexa+ · Amazon
- Apple Intelligence et Siri AI · Apple
- ChatGPT · OpenAI
- Claude · Anthropic
- Comet · Perplexity
- Microsoft Copilot · Microsoft
Frequently asked questions
What does Kimi's free tier include?
The free tier, called Adagio, gives you chat plus one agent task, two scheduled tasks, two projects and 500 MB of storage. Paid plans add more agent credits and unlock extra features.
How much are Kimi's paid plans?
As of October 22, 2026, the international pricing page lists Plus at $19 a month, Pro at $39, Max at $99 and Ultra at $199. Annual billing lowers the monthly price, for example to $15 a month for Plus.
Does Kimi train on my conversations?
The privacy policy published on kimi.com, written under Chinese law, says content may be used for training unless you ask customer service to stop. It does not clearly set out separate rules for users outside China.
Does Kimi have a desktop app?
Yes. Kimi runs on the web, Windows and macOS, iOS and Android, and as a browser extension. Kimi Work, the most complete desktop app, needs an Apple silicon Mac; Intel Macs get chat only.
Data sources
Data as of October 22, 2026
Report an error
Does a figure, a date or a fact look wrong? Tell us: every report is checked.