GLM-5.3-Flash or Kimi K3: which to choose?
GLM-5.3-Flash (Zhipu AI (Z.ai)) and Kimi K3 (Moonshot AI) compared point by point: measured performance, pricing, context and capabilities.
Data as of October 22, 2026
Side-by-side comparison
| Criterion | GLM-5.3-Flash | Kimi K3 |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Zhipu AI (Z.ai) | Moonshot AI |
| Released | September 18, 2026 | July 16, 2026 |
| Capability index | 71.9 / 100 | 80.7 / 100 |
| Input price | $0.30 | $3 |
| Output price | $1.05 | $15 |
| Cost of a typical task | $0.008 | $0.09 |
| Context window | 1,000,000 tokens | 1,048,576 tokens |
| Maximum output | 131,072 tokens | 1,048,576 tokens |
| Reasoning mode | Yes | Yes |
| Tool calling | Yes | Yes |
| Accepted inputs | text, image, video, PDF | text, image, video |
| Open weights | Yes | Yes |
| Knowledge cutoff | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
The match-up at a glance
GLM-5.3-Flash and Kimi K3 are two open-weight models that you can install on your own servers, one from Zhipu AI (Z.ai), the other from Moonshot AI. GLM-5.3-Flash was released on September 18, 2026, Kimi K3 on July 16, 2026.
All figures below come from public sources checked on October 22, 2026: models.dev and OpenRouter for prices and capabilities, Epoch AI for scores.
Performance
On our capability index, GLM-5.3-Flash scores 71.9 out of 100 and Kimi K3 80.7. Kimi K3 leads by 8.8 points.
On the 5 benchmarks reported for both, GLM-5.3-Flash wins 1 time and Kimi K3 4:
- GPQA Diamond (PhD-level science questions): GLM-5.3-Flash 90.2%, Kimi K3 93.1%
- OTIS Mock AIME (competition mathematics problems): GLM-5.3-Flash 93.9%, Kimi K3 97.2%
- FrontierMath (very hard research-level mathematics): GLM-5.3-Flash 55.8%, Kimi K3 72.2%
- FrontierCode (advanced programming tasks): GLM-5.3-Flash 31.8%, Kimi K3 44.2%
- APEX-Agents (professional tasks carried out by an agent): GLM-5.3-Flash 52.8%, Kimi K3 47.8%
Budget
GLM-5.3-Flash costs $0.30 per million input tokens and $1.05 per million output tokens; Kimi K3 costs $3 and $15.
For a typical agent task (read 20,000 tokens, write 2,000), expect $0.008 with GLM-5.3-Flash versus $0.09 with Kimi K3. GLM-5.3-Flash is 11.2 times cheaper, a gap that adds up quickly over 1,000 tasks: $81.93 difference.
Run the numbers with your own volumes in the agent cost calculator.
Features and limits
Kimi K3 reads more in one go: 1,048,576 tokens of context (roughly 1,573 pages), versus 1,000,000 for GLM-5.3-Flash.
Reasoning mode: GLM-5.3-Flash yes, Kimi K3 yes. Tool calling: GLM-5.3-Flash yes, Kimi K3 yes. Image input: GLM-5.3-Flash yes, Kimi K3 yes.
Both publish their weights: you can host them yourself.
In short
Our reading of the data:
- Choose GLM-5.3-Flash for a lower cost and a more recent release.
- Choose Kimi K3 for a higher capability index.
This verdict relies on public figures; it does not replace a trial on your own tasks.
Other comparisons
Frequently asked questions
GLM-5.3-Flash or Kimi K3: which is better?
On our index (Epoch AI data), GLM-5.3-Flash scores 71.9 and Kimi K3 80.7 out of 100. The best choice also depends on price and on your use case.
Which one is cheaper?
GLM-5.3-Flash. To read 20,000 tokens and write 2,000, expect $0.008 with GLM-5.3-Flash and $0.09 with Kimi K3 (prices as of October 22, 2026).
Which one has the larger context window?
Kimi K3, with 1,048,576 tokens versus 1,000,000.
Can I run GLM-5.3-Flash or Kimi K3 on my own servers?
Yes, both publish their weights. Check each license before commercial use.
Data sources
- Models.dev — Model data: models.dev (open-source project)
- OpenRouter — Market prices cross-checked with OpenRouter
- Epoch AI — AI Benchmarking Hub — Epoch AI, “AI Benchmarking Hub”, epoch.ai, CC BY 4.0
Data as of October 22, 2026
Report an error
Does a figure, a date or a fact look wrong? Tell us: every report is checked.