FRENES

AI browsers and extensions

Dia: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Dia is a macOS browser for people who want to ask questions about pages, multiple tabs and connected applications. It also supports preparing documents and organizing tabs and browsing profiles. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $20 per month. Access and transparency score: 40/100, #5 of 6 in its category.

Free tierHosting not disclosed

What is Dia?

Dia is a macOS browser for people who want to ask questions about pages, multiple tabs and connected applications. It also supports preparing documents and organizing tabs and browsing profiles.

According to its documentation, Dia lets you:

  • ask questions about a page being viewed
  • cross-reference information from multiple tabs
  • query connected applications
  • prepare summaries and documents
  • organize tabs and browsing profiles

We file it under AI browsers and extensions, the category of tools to use AI right in your browser, and it also overlaps with productivity and organisation. The category lists 6 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is The Browser Company of New York Inc., based in United States. The service launched in 2025.

Who is it for?

It is for anyone who wants to use AI right in your browser.

Dia is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying

The best test is a concrete case from your daily work: if the tool does not beat your current method within a week, move on to an alternative.

How much does Dia cost?

Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $20 per month (Better Answers; free Better Browser offering without AI features. 14-day AI trial), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is close to the category median ($19.9 per month, based on tools with a published price).

MonicaMonica : $8.25$8.25MerlinMerlin : $19$19Opera NeonOpera Neon : $19.9$19.9CometComet : $20$20DiaDia : $20$20
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12).

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

No export feature is documented: keep a copy of your content elsewhere.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Dia runs on: macOS.

Interface languages: English.

API availability is not documented.

How we scored it

Our 40/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Dia score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness0/30API, data export, open code
Trust15/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
CometComet : 5555SiderSider : 5555MonicaMonica : 5555MerlinMerlin : 4848DiaDia : 4040Opera NeonOpera Neon : 4040
Dia ranks #5 of 6. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Dia against other tools in the aI browsers and extensions category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
DiaYes$20 per month–40
CometYes$20 per month–55
SiderYesnot published–55
MonicaYes$99 per yearYes55
MerlinYes$19 per monthNo48
Opera NeonYes$19.9 per month–40

Verdict

Dia publishes little verifiable information: look at the better-scored alternatives first.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it

Limitations

  • Data hosting not disclosed
  • Data export not documented

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement
  • You need to easily retrieve your full history

Frequently asked questions

Is Dia free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $20 per month.

Where is Dia data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Dia have an API?

It is not documented.

What are the alternatives to Dia?

In the same category: Comet, Sider, Monica, and Merlin.

Dia or Comet: which one to choose?

Our score is 40/100 for Dia and 55/100 for Comet. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score