FRENES

Creative writing and scripts

Sudowrite: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Sudowrite lets people writing stories continue scenes, rewrite and expand passages, and develop characters and plots. It also stores information about the story's world and provides feedback on text. There is no free tier; the first paid plan costs $10 per month. Access and transparency score: 30/100, #6 of 6 in its category.

Paid onlyHosting not disclosed

What is Sudowrite?

Sudowrite lets people writing stories continue scenes, rewrite and expand passages, and develop characters and plots. It also stores information about the story's world and provides feedback on text.

According to its documentation, Sudowrite lets you:

  • continue a scene from the manuscript
  • rewrite and expand passages
  • imagine characters and plots
  • store information about the story's world
  • get feedback on text

We file it under Creative writing and scripts, the category of tools to write fiction, scripts and stories, and it also overlaps with aI writing tools. The category lists 6 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is Human Plus Plus, Inc., based in United States.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: content writers. The need it covers is simple to state: write fiction, scripts and stories.

Sudowrite is a good candidate if:

  • you also work from your phone

The best test is a concrete case from your daily work: if the tool does not beat your current method within a week, move on to an alternative.

How much does Sudowrite cost?

Pricing model: paid. No permanent free plan is offered.

The first paid plan costs $10 per month (Hobby & Student, billed annually; USD 19 with monthly billing. Free trial available), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is close to the category median ($10 per month, based on tools with a published price).

Scarlett PandaScarlett Panda : $6.58$6.58DreamGenDreamGen : $7.83$7.83ShyEditorShyEditor : $10$10NovelAINovelAI : $10$10SudowriteSudowrite : $10$10
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12).

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

Exporting your content: DOCX et archives ZIP de documents. Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Sudowrite runs on: web browser and iPhone and iPad.

Interface languages: English.

API availability is not documented.

How we scored it

Our 30/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Sudowrite score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access10/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness10/30API, data export, open code
Trust10/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
TextFXTextFX : 5858Scarlett PandaScarlett Panda : 4848DreamGenDreamGen : 4848ShyEditorShyEditor : 4848NovelAINovelAI : 4040SudowriteSudowrite : 3030
Sudowrite ranks #6 of 6. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Sudowrite against other tools in the creative writing and scripts category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
SudowriteNo$10 per month–30
TextFXYesnot published–58
Scarlett PandaYes$79 per year–48
DreamGenYes$7.83 per month–48
ShyEditorYes$10 per month–48
NovelAINo$10 per month–40

Verdict

Sudowrite publishes little verifiable information: look at the better-scored alternatives first.

Limitations

  • No free tier
  • Data hosting not disclosed

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement

Frequently asked questions

Is Sudowrite free?

No, there is no permanent free plan. The first paid plan costs $10 per month.

Where is Sudowrite data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Sudowrite have an API?

It is not documented.

What are the alternatives to Sudowrite?

In the same category: TextFX, Scarlett Panda, DreamGen, and ShyEditor.

Sudowrite or TextFX: which one to choose?

TextFX has a free tier, Sudowrite does not and our score is 30/100 for Sudowrite and 58/100 for TextFX. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score