FRENES

AI content detection

AI or Not: review, pricing, data and alternatives

AI or Not serves people examining content origins or manipulation. It analyzes images, text, audio, and video, looks for signs of face or voice manipulation, and supports checks through an API. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $5 per month. Access and transparency score: 58/100, #8 of 9 in its category.

Free tierAPIHosting not disclosed

What is AI or Not?

AI or Not serves people examining content origins or manipulation. It analyzes images, text, audio, and video, looks for signs of face or voice manipulation, and supports checks through an API.

According to its documentation, AI or Not lets you:

  • analyze whether an image was generated by AI
  • detect AI-generated text
  • examine audio and video files
  • look for signs of face or voice manipulation
  • integrate checks into a service through an API

We file it under AI content detection, the category of tools to check whether content is AI-made, and it also overlaps with security and privacy. The category lists 9 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is AIorNot, Inc., based in United States. The service launched in 2023, which gives it some track record.

Who is it for?

It is for anyone who wants to check whether content is AI-made.

AI or Not is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying
  • you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API
  • you also work from your phone

The best test is a concrete case from your daily work: if the tool does not beat your current method within a week, move on to an alternative.

How much does AI or Not cost?

Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $5 per month (Pro, displayed monthly price; USD 10 in credits included each month), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is cheaper than the category median ($12.95 per month, based on tools with a published price).

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

No export feature is documented: keep a copy of your content elsewhere.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

AI or Not runs on: web browser, API, and iPhone and iPad.

Interface languages: English.

A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.

How we scored it

Our 58/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

AI or Not score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness10/30API, data export, open code
Trust23/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
ZeroGPTZeroGPT : 7373CompilatioCompilatio : 7070GPTZeroGPTZero : 6868CopyleaksCopyleaks : 6565Originality.aiOriginality.ai : 6565Content Credentials VerifyContent Credentials Verify : 6363Resemble AIResemble AI : 6161AI or NotAI or Not : 5858SynthID DetectorSynthID Detector : 4343
AI or Not ranks #8 of 9. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

AI or Not against other tools in the aI content detection category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
AI or NotYes$5 per monthYes58
ZeroGPTYesnot publishedYes73
CompilatioYes€4.99 one-off paymentYes70
GPTZeroYesnot publishedYes68
CopyleaksYes$167.88 per yearYes65
Originality.aiYes$12.95 per monthYes65
Content Credentials VerifyYesnot published–63
Resemble AIYes$0 pay as you goYes61

Verdict

AI or Not is a decent option; compare its price and terms with the category leaders.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Cheaper than its category median
  • Public API
  • Established since 2023

Limitations

  • Data hosting not disclosed
  • Data export not documented

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement
  • You need to easily retrieve your full history

Frequently asked questions

Is AI or Not free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $5 per month.

Where is AI or Not data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does AI or Not have an API?

Yes, a public API is documented.

What are the alternatives to AI or Not?

In the same category: ZeroGPT, Compilatio, GPTZero, and Copyleaks.

AI or Not or ZeroGPT: which one to choose?

Our score is 58/100 for AI or Not and 73/100 for ZeroGPT. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score