FRENES

Architecture and interior design

Onton: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Onton helps people explore new interior decoration from a photo. It lets them search for furniture using text or images, collect products on a visual board, and revise a proposed layout. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $8 per month. Access and transparency score: 38/100, #2 of 2 in its category.

Score
38/100
Access 25/30
Openness 0/30
Trust 13/40
Free tierHosting not disclosed

What is Onton?

Onton helps people explore new interior decoration from a photo. It lets them search for furniture using text or images, collect products on a visual board, and revise a proposed layout.

According to its documentation, Onton lets you:

  • explore new decoration ideas from a photo
  • search for furniture using a description or an image
  • group products on a visual board
  • modify a proposed layout

We file it under Architecture and interior design, the category of tools to visualise a room or building, and it also overlaps with aI search engines. The category lists 2 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is Onton Inc., based in United States.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: architects and interior designers, graphic designers, and real estate agents. The need it covers is simple to state: visualise a room or building.

Onton is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying

The best test is a concrete case from your daily work: if the tool does not beat your current method within a week, move on to an alternative.

How much does Onton cost?

Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $8 per month (Basic, monthly amount with annual billing), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is cheaper than the category median ($16 per month, based on tools with a published price).

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

No export feature is documented: keep a copy of your content elsewhere.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Onton runs on: web browser.

Interface languages: English.

API availability is not documented.

How we scored it

Our 38/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Onton score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness0/30API, data export, open code
Trust13/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
38/100

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Onton against other tools in the architecture and interior design category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
OntonYes$8 per month–38
DecorAIYes$24 per month–53

Verdict

Onton is among the most accessible and transparent tools in its category.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Cheaper than its category median

Limitations

  • Data hosting not disclosed
  • Data export not documented

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement
  • You need to easily retrieve your full history

Frequently asked questions

Is Onton free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $8 per month.

Where is Onton data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Onton have an API?

It is not documented.

What are the alternatives to Onton?

In the same category: DecorAI.

Onton or DecorAI: which one to choose?

Onton starts at $8 per month, DecorAI at $24 per month and our score is 38/100 for Onton and 53/100 for DecorAI. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score