FRENES

Language learning

Speak: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Speak lets language learners practice conversations with AI and receive pronunciation corrections. It offers practice with everyday expressions, lessons adapted to their level, and review of mistakes made during exercises. There is no free tier; the first paid plan costs $99.99 per year. Access and transparency score: 35/100, #3 of 3 in its category.

Paid onlyHosting not disclosed

What is Speak?

Speak lets language learners practice conversations with AI and receive pronunciation corrections. It offers practice with everyday expressions, lessons adapted to their level, and review of mistakes made during exercises.

According to its documentation, Speak lets you:

  • practice a language through conversations with AI
  • receive pronunciation corrections
  • practice expressions in everyday situations
  • follow lessons adapted to your level
  • review mistakes made during exercises

We file it under Language learning, the category of tools to learn a language, and it also overlaps with education and tutoring. The category lists 3 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is Speakeasy Labs, Inc., based in United States. The service launched in 2019, which gives it some track record.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: students and teachers. The need it covers is simple to state: learn a language.

Speak is a good candidate if:

  • you also work from your phone

The best test is a concrete case from your daily work: if the tool does not beat your current method within a week, move on to an alternative.

How much does Speak cost?

Pricing model: paid. No permanent free plan is offered.

The first paid plan costs $99.99 per year (Premium, offer displayed on the US page; prices vary by country. 7-day trial), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is close to the category median ($8.33 per month, based on tools with a published price).

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

No export feature is documented: keep a copy of your content elsewhere.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Speak runs on: iPhone and iPad and Android.

The interface is available in 15 languages.

API availability is not documented.

How we scored it

Our 35/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Speak score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access15/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness0/30API, data export, open code
Trust20/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
35/100

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Speak against other tools in the language learning category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
SpeakNo$99.99 per year–35
PraktikaYesnot published–50
DuolingoYesnot published–40

Verdict

Speak is among the most accessible and transparent tools in its category.

Strengths

  • Established since 2019

Limitations

  • No free tier
  • Data hosting not disclosed
  • Data export not documented

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement
  • You need to easily retrieve your full history

Frequently asked questions

Is Speak free?

No, there is no permanent free plan. The first paid plan costs $99.99 per year.

Where is Speak data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Speak have an API?

It is not documented.

What are the alternatives to Speak?

In the same category: Praktika and Duolingo.

Speak or Praktika: which one to choose?

Praktika has a free tier, Speak does not and our score is 35/100 for Speak and 50/100 for Praktika. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score