FRENES

AI music

Udio: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Udio lets people creating songs start from a description or guide their creation with an audio excerpt. It also supports remixing tracks, editing part of a song, and sharing songs through links. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $10 per month. Access and transparency score: 50/100, #10 of 17 in its category.

Free tierHosting not disclosed

What is Udio?

Udio lets people creating songs start from a description or guide their creation with an audio excerpt. It also supports remixing tracks, editing part of a song, and sharing songs through links.

According to its documentation, Udio lets you:

  • create a song from a description
  • remix a track
  • edit part of a song
  • guide a creation with an audio excerpt
  • share a song through a link

We file it under AI music, the category of tools to compose music and songs. The category lists 17 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is Uncharted Labs, Inc., based in United States. The service launched in 2024.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: musicians. The need it covers is simple to state: compose music and songs.

Udio is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying

Before deciding, run a trial on a real task and measure the time saved: it is the only criterion that really counts.

How much does Udio cost?

Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $10 per month (Standard, billed monthly), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is close to the category median ($10 per month, based on tools with a published price).

ecrett musicecrett music : $4.99$4.99SOUNDRAWSOUNDRAW : $5.99$5.99SunoSuno : $8$8MurekaMureka : $8$8BoomyBoomy : $9.99$9.99UdioUdio : $10$10Audjust AIAudjust AI : $10$10AI Song MakerAI Song Maker : $10.49$10.49AIVAAIVA : $11$11MubertMubert : $11.69$11.69
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12).

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

No export feature is documented: keep a copy of your content elsewhere.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Udio runs on: web browser.

Interface languages are not specified.

There is no public API: the tool is used only through its interface.

How we scored it

Our 50/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Udio score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness0/30API, data export, open code
Trust25/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
SunoSuno : 7676AIVAAIVA : 7171Stable AudioStable Audio : 6868MurekaMureka : 6363MubertMubert : 6161SOUNDRAWSOUNDRAW : 5858BoomyBoomy : 5858ShazamShazam : 5353SoundfulSoundful : 5353UdioUdio : 5050
Udio ranks #10 of 17. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Udio against other tools in the aI music category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
UdioYes$10 per monthNo50
SunoYes$8 per monthYes76
AIVAYes€11 per monthYes71
Stable AudioYesnot publishedYes68
MurekaYes$96 per yearYes63
MubertYes$11.69 per monthYes61
SOUNDRAWYes$5.99 per monthYes58
BoomyYes$9.99 per month–58

Verdict

Udio publishes little verifiable information: look at the better-scored alternatives first.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it

Limitations

  • Data hosting not disclosed
  • Data export not documented
  • No API

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement
  • You need to easily retrieve your full history
  • You plan to automate it or connect it to an agent

Alternatives

Categories and jobs

Learn more

Frequently asked questions

Is Udio free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $10 per month.

Where is Udio data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Udio have an API?

No, no public API so far.

What are the alternatives to Udio?

In the same category: Suno, AIVA, Stable Audio, and Mureka.

Udio or Suno: which one to choose?

Udio starts at $10 per month, Suno at $8 per month, only Suno offers an API, and our score is 50/100 for Udio and 76/100 for Suno. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score