MiniMax Agent: MiniMax's AI agent, mid-transition
MiniMax Agent is MiniMax's consumer AI agent, built to complete whole tasks: websites, research, slide decks, videos. Its « Classic » version shuts down on November 20, 2026, making way for a new app called MiniMax Code.
Data as of October 22, 2026
Key figures
| Developer | MiniMax |
|---|---|
| Country | China |
| Launched | Not disclosed |
| Free version | Yes, limited |
| Plans | from $22 per month |
| Official website | agent.minimax.io |
Features
| Features | |
|---|---|
| Web search | Not disclosed |
| Agent mode | Yes |
| File upload | Not disclosed |
| Image generation | Not disclosed |
| Voice mode | Not disclosed |
| Memory | Yes |
| Code execution | Not disclosed |
| Autonomous browsing | Yes |
Where to use it
| Where to use it | |
|---|---|
| Web | Yes |
| iPhone | Yes |
| Android | Yes |
| Windows | Yes |
| macOS | Yes |
| Browser extension | Not disclosed |
| French interface | Not disclosed |
| Spanish interface | Not disclosed |
Privacy
| Privacy | |
|---|---|
| Opt out of training on your chats | Not disclosed |
| Temporary chat | Not disclosed |
| EU data residency | Not disclosed |
An agent that acts, not just a chatbot
MiniMax Agent does more than answer: it is an AI agent that chains actions together to deliver a finished result. The features announced by MiniMax are extensive:
- scheduled tasks that run at set times;
- websites, slide decks and researched reports;
- video generation with the H3 model (Explore and Build plans);
- persistent memory across sessions;
- a built-in browser and computer use;
- agent teams that split up the work;
- support for MCP, the protocol that connects the agent to other tools.
The model featured on the free tier is M3.1-Flash. That puts the product in the same space as Manus and Genspark, which also aim to carry out complete tasks.
Classic retires, MiniMax Code takes over
As of October 22, 2026, the homepage still carries the MiniMax Agent name, but a banner announces that the « Classic » version retires on November 20, after a migration window opening November 1. Its successor is MiniMax Code: an agent app for the web, desktop (Windows, macOS), the terminal and mobile. If you have ongoing projects, plan to retrieve them before the cutoff date.
Pricing and limits
The M Plan has three tiers as of October 22, 2026: Go at $22 a month ($220 a year), Explore at $55 (three times Go’s usage, plus H3 video) and Build at $132 (7.5 times Go’s usage). The older Token Plan is closed to new buyers. The free tier gives limited access to M3.1-Flash and a handful of scheduled tasks.
Two limits stand out. First, the product changes quickly, which can disrupt your workflow. Second, we found no privacy policy specific to the agent: before giving it access to accounts or files, run through the Can I trust an agent with this? tool. The official M Plan page lists the quotas for each tier.
Models used
Strengths
acting on your behalf · coding · teamwork
AI assistants
- Alexa+ · Amazon
- Apple Intelligence et Siri AI · Apple
- ChatGPT · OpenAI
- Claude · Anthropic
- Comet · Perplexity
- Microsoft Copilot · Microsoft
Frequently asked questions
What is MiniMax Code?
A banner on agent.minimax.io says the « Classic » version retires on November 20, 2026, with migration starting November 1. The new experience is called MiniMax Code and is presented as MiniMax's AI agent app.
How much does MiniMax Agent cost?
As of October 22, 2026, the M Plan offers Go at $22 a month, Explore at $55 and Build at $132, with annual options. A free tier gives limited use of the M3.1-Flash model.
Which devices does it run on?
MiniMax Code is listed for the web, Windows and macOS, the command line, iOS and Android.
What happens to my data?
We found no privacy policy specific to the agent on the official pages checked. To be safe, keep sensitive data out of it until those rules are clear to you.
Data sources
Data as of October 22, 2026
Report an error
Does a figure, a date or a fact look wrong? Tell us: every report is checked.