Alexa+: Amazon's rebuilt Alexa, countries, pricing and limits

Alexa+ is the version of Alexa that Amazon rebuilt around generative AI. It holds a more natural conversation, remembers context and can act on your behalf: book a table, order dinner, send an email.

Data as of October 22, 2026

Key figures

DeveloperAmazon
CountryUnited States
Launched2025
Free versionYes, limited
Plansfrom $19.99 per month
Official websitealexa.com

Features

Features
Web searchYes
Agent modeYes
File uploadYes
Image generationNot disclosed
Voice modeYes
MemoryYes
Code executionNot disclosed
Autonomous browsingNo

Where to use it

Where to use it
WebYes
iPhoneYes
AndroidYes
WindowsNot disclosed
macOSNot disclosed
Browser extensionNo
French interfaceYes
Spanish interfaceYes

Privacy

Privacy
Opt out of training on your chatsNot disclosed
Temporary chatNot disclosed
EU data residencyNot disclosed

How it differs from the old Alexa

Classic Alexa responded to fixed commands. Alexa+ runs on large language models available through Amazon Bedrock, the cloud platform from Amazon, though the specific models aren’t named. The upshot is a voice assistant that understands loosely phrased requests and can chain several steps together.

Amazon highlights three abilities:

  1. taking action: ordering food, booking a restaurant, a ride or a service. Here it behaves like an AI agent, relying on local partners such as OpenTable in the UK or TheFork in Spain;
  2. remembering: a memory of your preferences and the conversation so far;
  3. handling content: sending an email or an attachment, looking things up.

Alexa+ works on Echo devices, Fire TV, the Alexa app and, in some countries, Alexa.com.

Where it’s available and what it costs

As of October 22, 2026, Alexa+ is fully available in the US and in Canada, where it has worked in both English and French since June 11, 2026. Free early access is open in the UK, Spain, Italy, Germany, Austria, France, Mexico, Brazil, Australia and India. To join, you either buy a new compatible Echo or sign up online for an invitation.

MarketWithout PrimeWith Prime
United States$19.99/monthIncluded
CanadaCAD 27.99/monthIncluded
United Kingdom£19.99/month after early accessIncluded
Eurozone (FR, DE, AT, ES, IT)€22.99/month after early accessIncluded

In practice, Prime members don’t need to think about price. For everyone else, it costs more than most AI assistant subscriptions.

Privacy settings worth a look

A smart speaker listens inside your home. The Alexa Privacy dashboard lets you replay and delete recordings and set how long they’re kept. The pages we checked don’t mention a way to opt out of model training or EU data hosting. If you’re in Europe, GDPR applies, and anyone else living with you is recorded too.

Limits

Agent features depend on which partners operate in each country, so something that works in the US may not exist where you live. A misheard request can turn into an unwanted order or booking: check confirmations. To see how it compares, use our AI assistants comparison.

Official source: Amazon’s international launch announcement.

Strengths

acting on your behalf · searching with sources

AI assistants

Frequently asked questions

How much does Alexa+ cost?

Alexa+ is included at no extra cost with Amazon Prime. Without Prime, it costs $19.99 a month in the US and CAD 27.99 in Canada; Amazon has announced £19.99 in the UK and €22.99 in eurozone countries once early access ends.

Can I use Alexa+ for free?

Prime members pay nothing extra. In the US, a limited free text chat is also available on Alexa.com and in the Alexa app, and early access in several countries is currently free.

Which countries have Alexa+?

As of October 22, 2026, it is available in the US and Canada, with free early access in the UK, Spain, Italy, Germany, Austria, France, Mexico, Brazil, Australia and India.

Can I delete my voice recordings?

Yes. The Alexa Privacy dashboard lets you review and delete recordings and choose how long they're kept. Devices also show a visual indicator when Alexa is listening, and offer camera controls.

Data sources

Data as of October 22, 2026

Report an error

Does a figure, a date or a fact look wrong? Tell us: every report is checked.