FRENES

3D generation

Tripo: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Tripo creates 3D models from text or images for people producing digital objects. It generates textures, adds a skeleton and animations, and converts models for use in different software. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $5 per month. Access and transparency score: 63/100, #2 of 4 in its category.

Score
63/100
Access 25/30
Openness 20/30
Trust 18/40
Free tierAPIHosting not disclosed

What is Tripo?

Tripo creates 3D models from text or images for people producing digital objects. It generates textures, adds a skeleton and animations, and converts models for use in different software.

According to its documentation, Tripo lets you:

  • create a 3D model from text
  • turn an image into a 3D object
  • generate textures
  • add a skeleton and animations
  • convert models for different software

We file it under 3D generation, the category of tools to create 3D objects and scenes, and it also overlaps with animation. The category lists 4 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is Holymolly Ltd, based in Hong Kong SAR China. The service launched in 2024.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: graphic designers and developers. The need it covers is simple to state: create 3D objects and scenes.

Tripo is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying
  • you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API

The best test is a concrete case from your daily work: if the tool does not beat your current method within a week, move on to an alternative.

How much does Tripo cost?

Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $5 per month (Starter, 750 monthly credits), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is cheaper than the category median ($12 per month, based on tools with a published price).

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

Exporting your content: GLB, USD, FBX, OBJ, STL, 3MF. Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Tripo runs on: web browser and API.

Interface languages: English.

A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.

How we scored it

Our 63/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Tripo score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness20/30API, data export, open code
Trust18/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
MeshyMeshy : 8080TripoTripo : 6363SplineSpline : 5555KaedimKaedim : 5353
Tripo ranks #2 of 4. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Tripo against other tools in the 3D generation category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
TripoYes$5 per monthYes63
MeshyYes£8 per monthYes80
SplineYes$12 per month–55
KaedimNo$400 per monthYes53

Verdict

Tripo is among the most accessible and transparent tools in its category.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Cheaper than its category median
  • Public API

Limitations

  • Data hosting not disclosed

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement

Frequently asked questions

Is Tripo free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $5 per month.

Where is Tripo data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Tripo have an API?

Yes, a public API is documented.

What are the alternatives to Tripo?

In the same category: Meshy, Spline, and Kaedim.

Tripo or Meshy: which one to choose?

Tripo starts at $5 per month, Meshy at £8 per month and our score is 63/100 for Tripo and 80/100 for Meshy. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score