FRENES

Education and tutoring

Khanmigo: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Khanmigo guides students through exercises and provides feedback on writing or code. For teachers, it supports lesson planning, quiz and rubric creation, and summaries of student progress. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $44 per year. Access and transparency score: 60/100, #5 of 17 in its category.

Free tierHosting not disclosed

What is Khanmigo?

Khanmigo guides students through exercises and provides feedback on writing or code. For teachers, it supports lesson planning, quiz and rubric creation, and summaries of student progress.

According to its documentation, Khanmigo lets you:

  • guide a student through solving an exercise
  • give feedback on writing or code
  • prepare lesson plans
  • create quizzes and assessment rubrics
  • summarize student progress

We file it under Education and tutoring, the category of tools to learn and teach. The category lists 17 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is Khan Academy, Inc., based in United States. The service launched in 2023, which gives it some track record.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: teachers and students. The need it covers is simple to state: learn and teach.

Khanmigo is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying

The best test is a concrete case from your daily work: if the tool does not beat your current method within a week, move on to an alternative.

How much does Khanmigo cost?

Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $44 per year (Annual subscription for learners or families; free teacher tools. Geographic conditions apply), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is cheaper than the category median ($8.16 per month, based on tools with a published price).

QuizletQuizlet : $3$3KhanmigoKhanmigo : $3.67$3.67AnkiDecksAnkiDecks : $5$5KardsAIKardsAI : $5.99$5.99LearnClashLearnClash : $7.99$7.99MagicSchoolMagicSchool : $8.33$8.33QuizgeckoQuizgecko : $9$9QuizWhizQuizWhiz : $14$14Caktus AICaktus AI : $15$15GradGPTGradGPT : $36$36
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12).

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

Exporting your content: yes (details on the official site). Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Khanmigo runs on: web browser.

The interface is available in 17 languages.

API availability is not documented.

How we scored it

Our 60/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Khanmigo score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access30/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness10/30API, data export, open code
Trust20/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
CourseboxCoursebox : 7373MagicSchoolMagicSchool : 7070Caktus AICaktus AI : 6868LearnClashLearnClash : 6363KhanmigoKhanmigo : 6060QuizletQuizlet : 6060QuizgeckoQuizgecko : 5858QuizRiseQuizRise : 5858Brisk TeachingBrisk Teaching : 5555AnkiDecksAnkiDecks : 5353
Khanmigo ranks #5 of 17. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Khanmigo against other tools in the education and tutoring category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
KhanmigoYes$44 per year–60
CourseboxYesnot publishedYes73
MagicSchoolYes$8.33 per month–70
Caktus AIYes$180 per yearYes68
LearnClashYes$7.99 per month–63
QuizletYes$35.99 per year–60
QuizgeckoYes$108 per yearYes58
QuizRiseYesnot publishedYes58

Verdict

Khanmigo is a decent option; compare its price and terms with the category leaders.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Cheaper than its category median
  • Established since 2023

Limitations

  • Data hosting not disclosed

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement

Frequently asked questions

Is Khanmigo free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $44 per year.

Where is Khanmigo data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Khanmigo have an API?

It is not documented.

What are the alternatives to Khanmigo?

In the same category: Coursebox, MagicSchool, Caktus AI, and LearnClash.

Khanmigo or Coursebox: which one to choose?

Our score is 60/100 for Khanmigo and 73/100 for Coursebox. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score