FRENES

Education and tutoring

GradGPT: review, pricing, data and alternatives

GradGPT supports university applicants with application essays and admissions tracking. It evaluates essays, identifies sentences and arguments to improve, suggests topics and structures, and tracks target institutions and deadlines. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $36 per month. Access and transparency score: 48/100, #15 of 17 in its category.

Score
48/100
Access 25/30
Openness 0/30
Trust 23/40
Free tierHosting not disclosed

What is GradGPT?

GradGPT supports university applicants with application essays and admissions tracking. It evaluates essays, identifies sentences and arguments to improve, suggests topics and structures, and tracks target institutions and deadlines.

According to its documentation, GradGPT lets you:

  • evaluate a university application essay
  • identify sentences and arguments to improve
  • suggest possible topics and structures
  • track target institutions and deadlines
  • answer questions about admissions

We file it under Education and tutoring, the category of tools to learn and teach, and it also overlaps with grammar and paraphrasing. The category lists 17 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is GradGPT eGbR. The service launched in 2023, which gives it some track record.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: students and teachers. The need it covers is simple to state: learn and teach.

GradGPT is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying

Before deciding, run a trial on a real task and measure the time saved: it is the only criterion that really counts.

How much does GradGPT cost?

Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $36 per month (GradGPT Plus, billed monthly; 50 essay evaluations per month), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is more expensive than the category median ($8.16 per month, based on tools with a published price).

QuizletQuizlet : $3$3KhanmigoKhanmigo : $3.67$3.67AnkiDecksAnkiDecks : $5$5KardsAIKardsAI : $5.99$5.99LearnClashLearnClash : $7.99$7.99MagicSchoolMagicSchool : $8.33$8.33QuizgeckoQuizgecko : $9$9QuizWhizQuizWhiz : $14$14Caktus AICaktus AI : $15$15GradGPTGradGPT : $36$36
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12).

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

No export feature is documented: keep a copy of your content elsewhere.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

GradGPT runs on: web browser.

Interface languages: English.

API availability is not documented.

How we scored it

Our 48/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

GradGPT score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness0/30API, data export, open code
Trust23/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
CourseboxCoursebox : 7373MagicSchoolMagicSchool : 7070Caktus AICaktus AI : 6868LearnClashLearnClash : 6363KhanmigoKhanmigo : 6060QuizletQuizlet : 6060QuizgeckoQuizgecko : 5858QuizRiseQuizRise : 5858Brisk TeachingBrisk Teaching : 5555AnkiDecksAnkiDecks : 5353GradGPTGradGPT : 4848
GradGPT ranks #15 of 17. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

GradGPT against other tools in the education and tutoring category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
GradGPTYes$36 per month–48
CourseboxYesnot publishedYes73
MagicSchoolYes$8.33 per month–70
Caktus AIYes$180 per yearYes68
LearnClashYes$7.99 per month–63
KhanmigoYes$44 per year–60
QuizletYes$35.99 per year–60
QuizgeckoYes$108 per yearYes58

Verdict

GradGPT publishes little verifiable information: look at the better-scored alternatives first.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Established since 2023

Limitations

  • More expensive than its category median
  • Data hosting not disclosed
  • Data export not documented

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement
  • You need to easily retrieve your full history

Frequently asked questions

Is GradGPT free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $36 per month.

Where is GradGPT data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does GradGPT have an API?

It is not documented.

What are the alternatives to GradGPT?

In the same category: Coursebox, MagicSchool, Caktus AI, and LearnClash.

GradGPT or Coursebox: which one to choose?

Our score is 48/100 for GradGPT and 73/100 for Coursebox. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score