FRENES

Finance and accounting

COUNT: review, pricing, data and alternatives

COUNT lets people handling accounting categorize bank transactions and match receipts with payments. It creates invoices, tracks payments, identifies duplicates and unusual transactions, and produces financial reports. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $15 per month. Access and transparency score: 63/100, #3 of 6 in its category.

Free tierAPIHosting not disclosed

What is COUNT?

COUNT lets people handling accounting categorize bank transactions and match receipts with payments. It creates invoices, tracks payments, identifies duplicates and unusual transactions, and produces financial reports.

According to its documentation, COUNT lets you:

  • automatically categorize bank transactions
  • match receipts with payments
  • create invoices and track payments
  • identify duplicates and unusual transactions
  • produce financial reports

We file it under Finance and accounting, the category of tools to automate accounting and financial analysis. The category lists 6 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is COUNT Financial Inc., based in United States. The service launched in 2024.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: accountants and finance teams, small business owners, and freelancers. The need it covers is simple to state: automate accounting and financial analysis.

COUNT is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying
  • you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API

Before deciding, run a trial on a real task and measure the time saved: it is the only criterion that really counts.

How much does COUNT cost?

Pricing model: paid. A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $15 per month (Starter; 30-day free trial), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is close to the category median ($15 per month, based on tools with a published price).

MoneyCoachMoneyCoach : $3.33$3.33PennylanePennylane : $7$7COUNTCOUNT : $15$15Genius SheetsGenius Sheets : $15$15DextDext : $25$25
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12).

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

Exporting your content: yes (details on the official site). Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

COUNT runs on: web browser and API.

Interface languages: English.

A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.

How we scored it

Our 63/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

COUNT score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness20/30API, data export, open code
Trust18/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
PennylanePennylane : 7575DextDext : 7070COUNTCOUNT : 6363Fiscal.aiFiscal.ai : 5151MoneyCoachMoneyCoach : 4848Genius SheetsGenius Sheets : 3838
COUNT ranks #3 of 6. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

COUNT against other tools in the finance and accounting category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
COUNTYes$15 per monthYes63
PennylaneYes€7 per monthYes75
DextYes€25 per monthYes70
Fiscal.aiYesnot publishedYes51
MoneyCoachNo€39.99 per year–48
Genius SheetsYes$15 per month–38

Verdict

COUNT is among the most accessible and transparent tools in its category.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Public API

Limitations

  • Data hosting not disclosed

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement

Frequently asked questions

Is COUNT free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $15 per month.

Where is COUNT data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does COUNT have an API?

Yes, a public API is documented.

What are the alternatives to COUNT?

In the same category: Pennylane, Dext, Fiscal.ai, and MoneyCoach.

COUNT or Pennylane: which one to choose?

COUNT starts at $15 per month, Pennylane at €7 per month and our score is 63/100 for COUNT and 75/100 for Pennylane. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score