FRENES

Model APIs and platforms

Manifest: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Manifest lets developers bring multiple model providers behind one API. It supports model configuration, provider switching during outages, repair of some incorrect requests, usage tracking, and limits on agent budgets. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $19 per month. Access and transparency score: 58/100, #16 of 23 in its category.

Free tierOpen sourceAPIHosting not disclosed

What is Manifest?

Manifest lets developers bring multiple model providers behind one API. It supports model configuration, provider switching during outages, repair of some incorrect requests, usage tracking, and limits on agent budgets.

According to its documentation, Manifest lets you:

  • bring multiple model providers behind one API
  • configure models and their parameters
  • switch to another provider during an outage
  • repair some incorrect requests
  • track calls, tokens, and spending
  • limit agent budgets

We file it under Model APIs and platforms, the category of tools to access models through an API, and it also overlaps with lLMOps and observability and developer tools. The category lists 23 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is MNFST, Inc., based in United States.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: developers. The need it covers is simple to state: access models through an API.

Manifest is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying
  • you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API
  • you want to read the code or host it yourself

Before deciding, run a trial on a real task and measure the time saved: it is the only criterion that really counts.

How much does Manifest cost?

Pricing model: open source (public code). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $19 per month (Hosted Pro. The free Cloud plan is announced until November 1, 2026; self-hosting remains free), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is more expensive than the category median ($14 per month, based on tools with a published price).

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

No export feature is documented: keep a copy of your content elsewhere.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Manifest runs on: web browser and API.

Interface languages: English.

A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.

The source code is public: mnfstmnfst/llm-gateway.

How we scored it

Our 58/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Manifest score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness20/30API, data export, open code
Trust13/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
ProdiaProdia : 7878GroqGroq : 7676Hugging FaceHugging Face : 7575Together AITogether AI : 7171BasetenBaseten : 6868Cloudflare ClefCloudflare Clef : 6868falfal : 6868Google AI StudioGoogle AI Studio : 6868LiteLLMLiteLLM : 6868PollinationsPollinations : 6868ManifestManifest : 5858
Manifest ranks #16 of 23. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Manifest against other tools in the model APIs and platforms category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
ManifestYes$19 per monthYes58
ProdiaYes$0 pay as you goYes78
GroqYes$0.03 pay as you goYes76
Hugging FaceYes$9 per monthYes75
Together AIYes$0 pay as you goYes71
BasetenYes$0.1 pay as you goYes68
Cloudflare ClefYes$0.04 pay as you goYes68
falYes$0 pay as you goYes68

Verdict

Manifest is a decent option; compare its price and terms with the category leaders.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Public API
  • Public source code

Limitations

  • More expensive than its category median
  • Data hosting not disclosed
  • Data export not documented

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement
  • You need to easily retrieve your full history

Frequently asked questions

Is Manifest free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $19 per month.

Where is Manifest data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Manifest have an API?

Yes, a public API is documented.

What are the alternatives to Manifest?

In the same category: Prodia, Groq, Hugging Face, and Together AI.

Manifest or Prodia: which one to choose?

Manifest starts at $19 per month, Prodia at $0 pay as you go and our score is 58/100 for Manifest and 78/100 for Prodia. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score