FRENES

Research assistants

Explainpaper: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Explainpaper lets people reading scientific papers get explanations of selected passages, charts, and equations. It adjusts explanation difficulty, answers document questions, summarizes key findings, and creates an outline for navigation. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $16 per month. Access and transparency score: 41/100, #13 of 15 in its category.

Free tierHosting not disclosed

What is Explainpaper?

Explainpaper lets people reading scientific papers get explanations of selected passages, charts, and equations. It adjusts explanation difficulty, answers document questions, summarizes key findings, and creates an outline for navigation.

According to its documentation, Explainpaper lets you:

  • explain a selected passage in a paper
  • adjust the difficulty level of explanations
  • answer questions about a document
  • summarize the main findings
  • create an outline for navigating the paper
  • explain charts and equations

We file it under Research assistants, the category of tools to find, read and summarise papers, and it also overlaps with aI for documents and PDFs and aI summarisers. The category lists 15 verified tools on this site.

The service launched in 2022, which gives it some track record.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: researchers, students, and teachers. The need it covers is simple to state: find, read and summarise papers.

Explainpaper is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying

Before deciding, run a trial on a real task and measure the time saved: it is the only criterion that really counts.

How much does Explainpaper cost?

Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $16 per month (Pro, price shown on the official page; an annual option is also offered), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is more expensive than the category median ($12 per month, based on tools with a published price).

RayyanRayyan : $4.99$4.99Paper DigestPaper Digest : $6.66$6.66SourcelySourcely : $9$9ElicitElicit : $11$11ConsensusConsensus : $12$12SciSpaceSciSpace : $12$12SciteScite : $12$12ExplainpaperExplainpaper : $16$16AI-WriterAI-Writer : $24.17$24.17
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12).

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

No export feature is documented: keep a copy of your content elsewhere.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Explainpaper runs on: web browser.

Interface languages: English.

API availability is not documented.

How we scored it

Our 41/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Explainpaper score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness0/30API, data export, open code
Trust16/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
ConsensusConsensus : 8181AMinerAMiner : 7878ASReviewASReview : 7878ElicitElicit : 7575Ai2 AstaAi2 Asta : 7373SciSpaceSciSpace : 7171RayyanRayyan : 6868geneigenei : 6161alphaXivalphaXiv : 5656Semantic ScholarSemantic Scholar : 5555ExplainpaperExplainpaper : 4141
Explainpaper ranks #13 of 15. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Explainpaper against other tools in the research assistants category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
ExplainpaperYes$16 per month–41
ConsensusYes$144 per yearYes81
AMinerYesCN¥0.01 pay as you goYes78
ASReviewYesnot publishedYes78
ElicitYes$132 per yearYes75
Ai2 AstaYesnot publishedYes73
SciSpaceYes$12 per month–71
RayyanYes$4.99 per monthYes68

Verdict

Explainpaper publishes little verifiable information: look at the better-scored alternatives first.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Established since 2022

Limitations

  • More expensive than its category median
  • Data hosting not disclosed
  • Data export not documented

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement
  • You need to easily retrieve your full history

Frequently asked questions

Is Explainpaper free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $16 per month.

Where is Explainpaper data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Explainpaper have an API?

It is not documented.

What are the alternatives to Explainpaper?

In the same category: Consensus, AMiner, ASReview, and Elicit.

Explainpaper or Consensus: which one to choose?

Explainpaper starts at $16 per month, Consensus at $144 per year and our score is 41/100 for Explainpaper and 81/100 for Consensus. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score