Cursor: the AI agent code editor, now bundled with Grok
Cursor is a code editor built around AI: an agent reads your project, then proposes and applies changes across several files. Since SpaceX bought its parent company in 2026, the subscription has been sold together with Grok and X.
Data as of October 22, 2026
Key figures
| Developer | Anysphere (groupe SpaceX) |
|---|---|
| Country | United States |
| Launched | 2023 |
| Free version | Yes, limited |
| Plans | from $8 per month |
| Official website | cursor.com |
Features
| Features | |
|---|---|
| Web search | Not disclosed |
| Agent mode | Yes |
| File upload | Not disclosed |
| Image generation | Not disclosed |
| Voice mode | Not disclosed |
| Memory | Not disclosed |
| Code execution | Yes |
| Autonomous browsing | Not disclosed |
Where to use it
| Where to use it | |
|---|---|
| Web | Yes |
| iPhone | Not disclosed |
| Android | Not disclosed |
| Windows | Yes |
| macOS | Yes |
| Browser extension | No |
| French interface | Yes |
| Spanish interface | Yes |
Privacy
| Privacy | |
|---|---|
| Opt out of training on your chats | Yes |
| Temporary chat | Not disclosed |
| EU data residency | Not disclosed |
A full editor, not a plug-in
Rather than bolting onto the tool you already use, Cursor is a complete editor for macOS, Windows and Linux. AI sits at the center: you describe a change, an AI agent works through the codebase, edits several files and shows you the result. That’s agentic coding in practice. Paid plans add cloud agents you can launch from a browser, your phone or Slack, plus automated code reviews through Bugbot.
Plans reshaped by the acquisition
SpaceX announced on June 16, 2026 that it was buying Anysphere, Cursor’s developer. The most visible result as of October 22, 2026: the pricing page sells a single Cursor, Grok and X subscription through X Subscription Corp. Prices are shown before tax.
| Plan | Monthly price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Free | $0 | Limited agent and chat requests |
| Plus | $8 | Grok models only |
| Premium | $30 | 4x Plus usage, cloud agents, Bugbot, third-party models at API prices |
| Super | $100 | 15x Plus usage |
| Ultra | $200 | 50x Plus usage |
| Teams | from $30 per user | Team management |
Your allowance is shared between Cursor and Grok and resets every week. Our reading: Plus only unlocks models from xAI. If you rely on other models, start at Premium, and remember that third-party models are billed at API rates on top.
Privacy
Cursor’s “privacy mode” keeps your code out of model training when it’s switched on. The pages we checked say nothing about hosting data in Europe. For work projects, run it past your security team first, especially now that billing goes through an account tied to X.
Limits and caveats
An agent that rewrites several files at once can slip in bugs that are hard to spot. Review every change and run your tests: a hallucination can look like a call to a function that doesn’t exist. The SpaceX takeover reshaped the offer within a few months, and terms may keep shifting. To compare with an assistant that stays inside your current IDE, see GitHub Copilot.
Official pricing: cursor.com/pricing.
Models used
- Grok
Strengths
coding
AI assistants
- Claude · Anthropic
- DeepSeek · DeepSeek
- GitHub Copilot · GitHub (Microsoft)
- Kimi · Moonshot AI
- Le Chat (Mistral Vibe) · Mistral AI
- Manus · Manus AI
Frequently asked questions
Is Cursor free?
Yes, there is a free plan with a limited number of agent and chat requests. Regular use calls for a paid plan, starting at $8 a month before tax with Plus.
Why does a Cursor subscription include Grok and X?
SpaceX announced its acquisition of Anysphere, the company behind Cursor, in June 2026. The pricing page now sells a combined Cursor, Grok and X subscription, billed by X Subscription Corp., with usage limits shared between Cursor and Grok.
Is my code used to train models?
Cursor offers a privacy mode that guarantees your code is not used for training. Make sure it is turned on in settings before you open a confidential project.
Which operating systems does Cursor run on?
The desktop app is available for macOS, Windows and Linux. On paid plans, cloud agents can also be started from a browser, a phone or Slack.
Data sources
Data as of October 22, 2026
Report an error
Does a figure, a date or a fact look wrong? Tell us: every report is checked.