GitHub Copilot: GitHub's AI coding assistant, plans and limits

GitHub Copilot is GitHub's (Microsoft) AI pair programmer: it completes your code, answers questions and can hand whole tasks to an agent. It is built mainly for developers, from students learning to code to professional teams.

Data as of October 22, 2026

Key figures

DeveloperGitHub (Microsoft)
CountryUnited States
LaunchedJune 2022
Free versionYes, limited
Plansfrom $10 per month
Official websitegithub.com

Features

Features
Web searchNot disclosed
Agent modeYes
File uploadNot disclosed
Image generationNo
Voice modeNot disclosed
MemoryNot disclosed
Code executionYes
Autonomous browsingNo

Where to use it

Where to use it
WebYes
iPhoneYes
AndroidYes
WindowsYes
macOSYes
Browser extensionNo
French interfaceNot disclosed
Spanish interfaceNot disclosed

Privacy

Privacy
Opt out of training on your chatsYes
Temporary chatNot disclosed
EU data residencyNot disclosed

What Copilot does day to day

GitHub Copilot started as autocomplete: as you type, it suggests the rest of the line or function. It has since grown into a full AI assistant for code, with three main uses:

  • completions in your editor, which don’t consume credits on paid plans;
  • chat, to ask in plain English for an explanation, a test or a fix;
  • agents, which take on a task (fix an issue, modernize an app) and come back with a proposed change for you to review. This is known as agentic coding.

Copilot plugs into most development environments and into GitHub.com, so you don’t have to juggle a chat window and your project.

Pricing and credits as of October 22, 2026

GitHub lists a free plan plus three paid tiers for individuals: Pro at $10 per month, Pro+ at $39 and Max at $100. For organizations, Copilot Business costs $19 and Copilot Enterprise $39 per seat per month. Verified students get a free Copilot Student plan, and verified teachers and maintainers of popular open source projects may qualify for free Copilot Pro, according to GitHub’s criteria.

Paid plans run on “AI credits”: chat and agents use them, completions don’t. Once your allowance is gone, you can set a budget to keep going, switch to a lighter model or wait for the monthly reset. In practice, heavy agent use can cost more than the sticker price, so keep an eye on usage in your settings.

Privacy: one setting worth checking

This matters for personal accounts: since April 24, 2026, GitHub uses interaction data (code you send, suggestions you accept, repository context) from Free, Pro and Pro+ plans to train its models by default, unless you opt out in your Copilot settings. If you work on confidential code with a personal account, change that setting on day one. Business and Enterprise plans are not affected. For the broader picture, see our page on GDPR and AI.

Limits and risks

Copilot can produce code that compiles but hides bugs, security holes or poor dependency choices. Like any hallucination, a plausible suggestion is not a verified one: review and test what agents propose before merging. English is the best-supported language; GitHub notes that pull request summaries and commit messages are English-only. If you’re weighing an AI-first editor against an assistant that slots into your existing tools, compare it with Cursor or use our AI assistants comparison.

Official reference: GitHub Copilot plans and pricing.

Strengths

coding

AI assistants

Frequently asked questions

Is GitHub Copilot free?

Yes, there is a Copilot Free plan. As of October 22, 2026, it is capped at 2,000 code completions per month, entry-level models and limited chat and agent use. Verified students get a more complete free plan.

Does GitHub train its models on my code?

Since April 24, 2026, interaction data from Free, Pro and Pro+ accounts may be used for model training unless you opt out in the Copilot settings of your GitHub account. Business and Enterprise plans are excluded.

Which editors does Copilot support?

Every plan works in VS Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains IDEs, Xcode, Neovim and Eclipse, plus GitHub.com, the GitHub mobile app, the command line and the desktop app.

What happens when I run out of AI credits?

Chat and agents draw on monthly AI credits, while code completions do not. When credits run out you can set a dollar budget for extra usage, switch to a lighter model or wait for the monthly reset.

Data sources

Data as of October 22, 2026

Report an error

Does a figure, a date or a fact look wrong? Tell us: every report is checked.