GLM-5.3 versus GLM-5.3-Flash

GLM-5.3 (Zhipu AI (Z.ai)) and GLM-5.3-Flash (Zhipu AI (Z.ai)) compared point by point: measured performance, pricing, context and capabilities.

Data as of October 22, 2026

Side-by-side comparison

CriterionGLM-5.3GLM-5.3-Flash
DeveloperZhipu AI (Z.ai)Zhipu AI (Z.ai)
ReleasedAugust 14, 2026September 18, 2026
Capability index78.8 / 10071.9 / 100
Input price$1.2$0.30
Output price$4.18$1.05
Cost of a typical task$0.032$0.008
Context window1,000,000 tokens1,000,000 tokens
Maximum output131,072 tokens131,072 tokens
Reasoning modeYesYes
Tool callingYesYes
Accepted inputstexttext, image, video, PDF
Open weightsYesYes
Knowledge cutoffNot disclosedNot disclosed

Two models head to head

This comparison pits two open-weight models that you can install on your own servers against each other: GLM-5.3 and GLM-5.3-Flash, both built by Zhipu AI (Z.ai). The first dates from August 14, 2026, the second from September 18, 2026.

All figures below come from public sources checked on October 22, 2026: models.dev and OpenRouter for prices and capabilities, Epoch AI for scores.

Performance

On our capability index, GLM-5.3 scores 78.8 out of 100 and GLM-5.3-Flash 71.9. GLM-5.3 leads by 6.9 points.

On the 5 benchmarks reported for both, GLM-5.3 wins 4 times and GLM-5.3-Flash 1:

  • GPQA Diamond (PhD-level science questions): GLM-5.3 90.9%, GLM-5.3-Flash 90.2%
  • OTIS Mock AIME (competition mathematics problems): GLM-5.3 91.1%, GLM-5.3-Flash 93.9%
  • FrontierMath (very hard research-level mathematics): GLM-5.3 68.8%, GLM-5.3-Flash 55.8%
  • FrontierCode (advanced programming tasks): GLM-5.3 40.1%, GLM-5.3-Flash 31.8%
  • APEX-Agents (professional tasks carried out by an agent): GLM-5.3 56.6%, GLM-5.3-Flash 52.8%

Which one costs less?

GLM-5.3 costs $1.2 per million input tokens and $4.18 per million output tokens; GLM-5.3-Flash costs $0.30 and $1.05.

For a typical agent task (read 20,000 tokens, write 2,000), expect $0.032 with GLM-5.3 versus $0.008 with GLM-5.3-Flash. GLM-5.3-Flash is 4 times cheaper, a gap that adds up quickly over 1,000 tasks: $24.2 difference.

Run the numbers with your own volumes in the agent cost calculator.

Context and capabilities

Both models have the same context window: 1,000,000 tokens, roughly 1,500 pages.

Reasoning mode: GLM-5.3 yes, GLM-5.3-Flash yes. Tool calling: GLM-5.3 yes, GLM-5.3-Flash yes. Image input: GLM-5.3 no, GLM-5.3-Flash yes.

Both publish their weights: you can host them yourself.

In short

Our reading of the data:

  • Choose GLM-5.3 for a higher capability index.
  • Choose GLM-5.3-Flash for a lower cost and image input.

This verdict relies on public figures; it does not replace a trial on your own tasks.

Other comparisons

Frequently asked questions

GLM-5.3 or GLM-5.3-Flash: which is better?

On our index (Epoch AI data), GLM-5.3 scores 78.8 and GLM-5.3-Flash 71.9 out of 100. The best choice also depends on price and on your use case.

Which one is cheaper?

GLM-5.3-Flash. To read 20,000 tokens and write 2,000, expect $0.032 with GLM-5.3 and $0.008 with GLM-5.3-Flash (prices as of October 22, 2026).

Which one has the larger context window?

Neither: both accept 1,000,000 tokens.

Can I run GLM-5.3 or GLM-5.3-Flash on my own servers?

Yes, both publish their weights. Check each license before commercial use.

Data sources

Data as of October 22, 2026

Report an error

Does a figure, a date or a fact look wrong? Tell us: every report is checked.