FRENES

AI tools comparison

Runway vs Kling AI: 2026 comparison

Across 9 comparable criteria, Runway wins 2, Kling AI wins 2, with 5 ties. Runway leads on track record and recognition; Kling AI on entry price and interface languages.

9 criteria decided

Runway and Kling AI in brief

Runway and Kling AI both generate video from text and animate images. Each offers web access, an iOS app and an API, together with a free tier. Their differences become clearer when you look beyond the initial generation. Runway documents instruction based video editing and resolution enhancement. Kling AI lists clip extension and image creation from references. Their advertised subscription prices also involve different billing conditions, so the headline amounts alone are insufficient for comparing the ongoing cost of using either service.

Runway : Runway creates videos from text, animates images and modifies videos through instructions. It serves people who want to produce or edit videos and increase their resolution.

Kling AI : Kling AI is for people who want to create videos from text or animate images. It also lets users extend a clip and create images from references.

Both meet the same need, which makes the comparison useful. We compare them on 10 verifiable criteria, using the same data as their profiles, collected from official sites.

Comparison table

Profile data, checked October 24, 2026.
CriterionRunwayKling AI
CategoryAI video generatorsAI video generators
Websiterunway.comklingai.com
PublisherRunway AI, Inc.Kling AI Pte. Ltd.
CountryUnited StatesSingapore
Launched20192024
Pricing modelfreemium (limited free use, then paid)freemium (limited free use, then paid)
Free tierYesYes
Entry price$12 per month$6.99 per month
Platformsweb browser, iPhone and iPad, APIweb browser, iPhone and iPad, API
LanguagesEnglishEnglish, Japanese, Korean, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese
APIYesYes
Source codeclosedclosed
Site score75/10053/100

Criterion by criterion

For each criterion: why it matters, each one's value and who has the edge. A criterion without data on both sides is not decided.

Free tier

A free tier lets you test the tool on your own examples before paying anything. Runway : yes. Kling AI : yes. A tie on this point.

Entry price

The first paid plan, per month, gives the minimum cost of regular use; higher plans cost more. Runway : $12 per month. Kling AI : $6.99 per month. Edge: Kling AI.

Public API

An API lets you connect the tool to your software, an automation tool or an AI agent. Runway : yes. Kling AI : yes. A tie on this point.

Data export

Being able to get your content back avoids lock-in the day you want to switch tools. Runway : yes. Kling AI : not disclosed. Cannot be decided: data missing on one side.

Data hosting

Where data is stored matters for GDPR and client data: the EU or local processing make compliance simpler. Runway : not disclosed. Kling AI : not disclosed. A tie on this point.

Interface languages

More interface languages make the tool easier to roll out across an international team. Runway : 1. Kling AI : 5. Edge: Kling AI.

Platforms

The more platforms (web, desktop, mobile, extension), the better the tool fits your daily routine. Runway : web browser, iPhone and iPad, and API. Kling AI : web browser, iPhone and iPad, and API. A tie on this point.

Open source

Public code lets you audit the tool, self-host it and keep using it if the publisher changes course. Runway : no. Kling AI : no. A tie on this point.

Track record

A tool launched several years ago has a longer history: less risk of sudden shutdown, more user feedback. Runway : launched in 2019. Kling AI : launched in 2024. Edge: Runway.

Recognition

The number of reference community lists citing the tool shows how well known it is among practitioners. Runway : cited in 5 lists. Kling AI : cited in 1 list. Edge: Runway.

In charts

Runway · AccessRunway · Access : 25/3025/30Kling AI · AccessKling AI · Access : 25/3025/30Runway · OpennessRunway · Openness : 20/3020/30Kling AI · OpennessKling AI · Openness : 10/3010/30Runway · TrustRunway · Trust : 30/4030/40Kling AI · TrustKling AI · Trust : 18/4018/40
Site score components, Runway in solid colour. The method is the same for all AI tools.
RunwayRunway : $144$144Kling AIKling AI : $84$84
Entry price over 12 months, excluding tax and add-ons; one user.

Our analysis

Runway was launched in 2019 by US company Runway AI, Inc. Its documented scope combines video generation with changes to existing footage. That may suit you if you want to create a shot, edit a video through instructions or increase its resolution. Kling AI was launched in 2024 by Kling AI Pte. Ltd., based in Singapore. It combines video creation, image animation, clip extension and reference guided image generation. Its stated features may fit a process that moves from source images to longer clips. Neither launch date nor feature coverage establishes visual quality, instruction accuracy or consistency across the material you intend to create.

Runway Standard starts at USD 12 per month as a monthly equivalent billed annually. Kling AI Standard lists USD 6.99 per month with a first subscription discount, followed by an advertised monthly renewal of USD 8.80, including 660 credits per month. Its introductory amount should therefore be separated from the renewal price. Both have free tiers, but their limits are not supplied here. No directly comparable Runway allowance is provided. Their access and transparency scores are 75 and 53, with category positions of third and fifteenth out of twenty-four. Those figures describe access and transparency rather than the quality of generated videos.

Both products have closed source code, and neither declares its data hosting location in the supplied information. Runway’s US publisher and Kling AI’s Singapore publisher do not establish where uploaded images or videos are actually stored. You therefore cannot infer the treatment of confidential footage from the publisher’s country. Both services provide APIs, which makes integration a documented possibility, but says nothing here about retention rules or the reuse of submitted media. If your decision depends on confidentiality, processing location or rights over content, those questions remain unresolved by these records. The available feature lists should not be treated as privacy assurances.

Both tools list the same access channels: web, iOS and API. Interface language may still affect everyday use. Runway lists one language and Kling AI five; neither includes French, and the other languages are not identified here. Runway documents MP4, MOV ProRes and PNG sequences in a ZIP archive, with availability depending on the model and plan. Kling AI’s export formats are unspecified, which is different from an explicit absence of export. If you need to fit generated footage into a particular editing workflow, Runway provides concrete format information, while Kling AI requires clarification before you can establish compatibility for that step.

Depending on your situation

The right choice depends on use. For a few common situations, here are the criteria that matter and who wins (Runway value / Kling AI value).

Personal use on a tight budget

Here, Kling AI has the edge: it wins 2 of the 3 criteria that matter in this situation, namely free tier (yes / yes), entry price ($12 per month / $6.99 per month), and interface languages (1 / 5).

Business use with client data

Here, Runway has the edge: it wins 1 of the 3 criteria that matter in this situation, namely data hosting (not disclosed / not disclosed), data export (yes / not disclosed), and track record (launched in 2019 / launched in 2024).

Integration with your software

Neither stands out on the criteria for this situation (public api (yes / yes), open source (no / no), and platforms (web browser, iPhone and iPad, and API / web browser, iPhone and iPad, and API)): decide with a trial.

Which one to choose?

Choose Runway if…

  • you value track record (launched in 2019)
  • you value recognition (cited in 5 lists)

Runway makes sense if you need instruction based video edits or resolution enhancement alongside generation. It is also relevant when your editing process depends on documented output formats. Check that the particular model and subscription you intend to use actually provide the MP4, MOV ProRes or PNG sequence export required by the rest of your workflow.

Choose Kling AI if…

  • you value entry price ($6.99 per month)
  • you value interface languages (5)

Kling AI is a logical option if clip extension or creating images from references forms part of your process, alongside video generation and image animation. Its Standard offer specifies 660 monthly credits. Consider it where that allowance fits your needs, while accounting for the renewal price and clarifying export options before relying on it for a particular editing pipeline.

Strengths and limits of each

Runway

  • + Free tier to try it
  • + Public API
  • + Established since 2019
  • − More expensive than its category median
  • − Data hosting not disclosed

Kling AI

  • + Free tier to try it
  • + Cheaper than its category median
  • + Public API
  • − Data hosting not disclosed
  • − Data export not documented

The best test is still yours: take three real tasks from your day and give them to both for a week.

What about the others?

If neither suits you, look at Pictory, Luma Dream Machine, Higgsfield, PrismPoster, Pika, and Fliki.

Related comparisons:

Conclusion

Choose according to the work surrounding generation. Runway documents video editing, resolution enhancement and several conditional export formats. Kling AI lists clip extension and reference guided image creation, with a discounted entry price that differs from renewal. Their listed platforms do not separate them. Your editing tasks, required output formats and subscription commitment are more useful decision points than their category positions, and the available scores should not be read as measures of video quality.

Verdict

A tie on criteria won (2 each): the choice depends on what matters most to you.

Frequently asked questions

Runway or Kling AI: which is better?

A tie on criteria won (2 each): the choice depends on what matters most to you.

What is the main difference between Runway and Kling AI?

Runway leads on track record (launched in 2019 vs launched in 2024), Kling AI on entry price ($6.99 per month vs $12 per month).

Are Runway and Kling AI free?

Free tier: Runway, yes; Kling AI, yes.

Which one is cheaper?

Entry price: Runway, $12 per month; Kling AI, $6.99 per month. Kling AI is cheaper.

Which one protects my data better?

Data hosting: Runway, not disclosed; Kling AI, not disclosed. For sensitive data, also check the publisher's data processing agreement.

What alternative to Runway and Kling AI?

In the same family: Pictory, Luma Dream Machine, and Higgsfield.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score