AI video generators
Pika: review, pricing, data and alternatives
Pika is for people creating videos from text or still images. It also lets users replace video elements, extend a clip, and transfer motion to another scene. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $10 per month. Access and transparency score: 71/100, #6 of 24 in its category.
| Access | 25/30 | |
|---|---|---|
| Openness | 20/30 | |
| Trust | 26/40 |
What is Pika?
Pika is for people creating videos from text or still images. It also lets users replace video elements, extend a clip, and transfer motion to another scene.
According to its documentation, Pika lets you:
- create a video from text
- animate a still image
- replace elements in a video
- extend a clip
- transfer motion to another scene
We file it under AI video generators, the category of tools to create videos from text or images, and it also overlaps with aI video editing and animation. The category lists 24 verified tools on this site.
The publisher is Mellis, Inc., based in United States. The service launched in 2023, which gives it some track record.
Who is it for?
It is mostly useful to these profiles: video creators, social media managers, marketers, and graphic designers. The need it covers is simple to state: create videos from text or images.
Pika is a good candidate if:
- you want to try before paying
- you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API
Before deciding, run a trial on a real task and measure the time saved: it is the only criterion that really counts.
How much does Pika cost?
Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.
The first paid plan costs $10 per month (Starter, monthly billing, 900 credits per month; Free plan with no monthly credits included), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.
Per month, that is close to the category median ($10 per month, based on tools with a published price).
To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.
Data and privacy
The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.
For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.
Exporting your content: yes (details on the official site). Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.
Three habits apply to every AI tool:
- turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
- use a work account separate from your personal account
- review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it
Platforms, languages and API
Pika runs on: web browser and API.
Interface languages are not specified.
A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.
How we scored it
Our 71/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.
| Criterion | Points | What counts |
|---|---|---|
| Access | 25/30 | free tier, published price, French interface |
| Openness | 20/30 | API, data export, open code |
| Trust | 26/40 | identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists |
The full calculation is explained on our method page.
Comparison with alternatives
Pika against other tools in the aI video generators category:
| Tool | Free | Entry price | API | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pika | Yes | $10 per month | Yes | 71 |
| Pictory | Yes | $25 per month | Yes | 81 |
| Luma Dream Machine | Yes | $9.99 per month | Yes | 80 |
| Runway | Yes | $12 per month | Yes | 75 |
| Higgsfield | Yes | $9 per month | Yes | 73 |
| PrismPoster | Yes | $3.36 pay as you go | Yes | 73 |
| Fliki | Yes | $28 per month | Yes | 68 |
| Topview | Yes | $432 per year | Yes | 68 |
Verdict
Pika is a decent option; compare its price and terms with the category leaders.
Strengths
- Free tier to try it
- Public API
- Established since 2023
Limitations
- Data hosting not disclosed
Avoid if…
- You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement
Alternatives
- Pictoryfree tier
- Luma Dream Machinefree tier
- Runwayfree tier
- Higgsfieldfree tier
- PrismPosterfree tier
- Flikifree tier
Categories and jobs
Learn more
Frequently asked questions
Is Pika free?
Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $10 per month.
Where is Pika data stored?
The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.
Does Pika have an API?
Yes, a public API is documented.
What are the alternatives to Pika?
In the same category: Pictory, Luma Dream Machine, Runway, and Higgsfield.
Pika or Pictory: which one to choose?
Pika starts at $10 per month, Pictory at $25 per month and our score is 71/100 for Pika and 81/100 for Pictory. Try both on the same task before paying.
Related articles
- Creating videos with AI: what works todayOctober 10, 2026
- Generating images with AI: tools, pricing, and limitationsOctober 9, 2026
- How to use NotebookLM: a complete guideOctober 8, 2026
- Free ChatGPT alternatives: what they actually offerOctober 7, 2026
Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score