FRENES

AI video generators

Kling AI: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Kling AI is for people who want to create videos from text or animate images. It also lets users extend a clip and create images from references. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $6.99 per month. Access and transparency score: 53/100, #15 of 24 in its category.

Free tierAPIHosting not disclosed

What is Kling AI?

Kling AI is for people who want to create videos from text or animate images. It also lets users extend a clip and create images from references.

According to its documentation, Kling AI lets you:

  • create videos from text
  • animate images
  • extend a clip
  • create images from references

We file it under AI video generators, the category of tools to create videos from text or images, and it also overlaps with aI image generators. The category lists 24 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is Kling AI Pte. Ltd., based in Singapore. The service launched in 2024.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: video creators, social media managers, and marketers. The need it covers is simple to state: create videos from text or images.

Kling AI is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying
  • you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API
  • you also work from your phone

The best test is a concrete case from your daily work: if the tool does not beat your current method within a week, move on to an alternative.

How much does Kling AI cost?

Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $6.99 per month (Standard, discount on the first subscription; monthly renewal listed at USD 8.80, with 660 credits per month), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is cheaper than the category median ($10 per month, based on tools with a published price).

DreaminaDreamina : $0.29$0.29Kling AIKling AI : $6.99$6.99MeliesMelies : $7$7HiggsfieldHiggsfield : $9$9Luma Dream MachineLuma Dream Machine : $9.99$9.99TheFluxTrainTheFluxTrain : $11$11LTX StudioLTX Studio : $12$12PictoryPictory : $25$25FlikiFliki : $28$28
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12). Sample of 12 tools out of 17.

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

No export feature is documented: keep a copy of your content elsewhere.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Kling AI runs on: web browser, iPhone and iPad, and API.

Interface languages: English, Japanese, Korean, Simplified Chinese, and Traditional Chinese.

A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.

How we scored it

Our 53/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Kling AI score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness10/30API, data export, open code
Trust18/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
PictoryPictory : 8181Luma Dream MachineLuma Dream Machine : 8080RunwayRunway : 7575HiggsfieldHiggsfield : 7373PrismPosterPrismPoster : 7373PikaPika : 7171FlikiFliki : 6868TopviewTopview : 6868Google FlowGoogle Flow : 6363Neural FramesNeural Frames : 6363Kling AIKling AI : 5353
Kling AI ranks #15 of 24. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Kling AI against other tools in the aI video generators category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
Kling AIYes$6.99 per monthYes53
PictoryYes$25 per monthYes81
Luma Dream MachineYes$9.99 per monthYes80
RunwayYes$12 per monthYes75
HiggsfieldYes$9 per monthYes73
PrismPosterYes$3.36 pay as you goYes73
PikaYes$10 per monthYes71
FlikiYes$28 per monthYes68

Verdict

Kling AI publishes little verifiable information: look at the better-scored alternatives first.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Cheaper than its category median
  • Public API

Limitations

  • Data hosting not disclosed
  • Data export not documented

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement
  • You need to easily retrieve your full history

Frequently asked questions

Is Kling AI free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $6.99 per month.

Where is Kling AI data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Kling AI have an API?

Yes, a public API is documented.

What are the alternatives to Kling AI?

In the same category: Pictory, Luma Dream Machine, Runway, and Higgsfield.

Kling AI or Pictory: which one to choose?

Kling AI starts at $6.99 per month, Pictory at $25 per month and our score is 53/100 for Kling AI and 81/100 for Pictory. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score