FRENES

General AI chatbots

Grok: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Grok answers questions, searches the web and X, and analyzes files and images. It serves people who want to generate images and videos or speak with an assistant. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $8 per month. Access and transparency score: 66/100, #7 of 20 in its category.

Score
66/100
Access 30/30
Openness 10/30
Trust 26/40
Free tierAPIHosting not disclosed

What is Grok?

Grok answers questions, searches the web and X, and analyzes files and images. It serves people who want to generate images and videos or speak with an assistant.

According to its documentation, Grok lets you:

  • answer questions in conversation
  • search the web and X
  • analyze files and images
  • generate images and videos
  • speak with the assistant

We file it under General AI chatbots, the category of tools to chat with a general-purpose AI, and it also overlaps with aI search engines and aI image generators. The category lists 20 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is SpaceXAI LLC, based in United States. The service launched in 2023, which gives it some track record.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: content writers, developers, social media managers, and students. The need it covers is simple to state: chat with a general-purpose AI.

Grok is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying
  • you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API
  • you also work from your phone

Before deciding, run a trial on a real task and measure the time saved: it is the only criterion that really counts.

How much does Grok cost?

Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $8 per month (Plus from The X Subscription, including Grok; excluding taxes and any applicable fees), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is cheaper than the category median ($9.5 per month, based on tools with a published price).

GeminiGemini : $4.99$4.99PoePoe : $4.99$4.99ChatGPTChatGPT : $8$8GrokGrok : $8$8HuggingChatHuggingChat : $9$9Microsoft CopilotMicrosoft Copilot : $9.99$9.99AICampAICamp : $10$10Z.aiZ.ai : $12.6$12.6Mistral VibeMistral Vibe : $14.99$14.99ClaudeClaude : $16.67$16.67
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12).

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

No export feature is documented: keep a copy of your content elsewhere.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Grok runs on: web browser, iPhone and iPad, Android, and API.

The interface is available in 12 languages.

A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.

How we scored it

Our 66/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Grok score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access30/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness10/30API, data export, open code
Trust26/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
GeminiGemini : 8585ChatGPTChatGPT : 8383LibreChatLibreChat : 8383ClaudeClaude : 7676Mistral VibeMistral Vibe : 7171PoePoe : 7070GrokGrok : 6666KimiKimi : 6565HuggingChatHuggingChat : 6565Microsoft CopilotMicrosoft Copilot : 6363
Grok ranks #7 of 20. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Grok against other tools in the general AI chatbots category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
GrokYes$8 per monthYes66
GeminiYes$4.99 per monthYes85
ChatGPTYes$8 per monthYes83
LibreChatYesnot publishedYes83
ClaudeYes$200 per yearYes76
Mistral VibeYes$14.99 per month–71
PoeYes$4.99 per monthYes70
KimiYesnot publishedYes65

Verdict

Grok is a decent option; compare its price and terms with the category leaders.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Cheaper than its category median
  • Public API
  • Established since 2023
  • Available on many platforms

Limitations

  • Data hosting not disclosed
  • Data export not documented

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement
  • You need to easily retrieve your full history

Frequently asked questions

Is Grok free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $8 per month.

Where is Grok data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Grok have an API?

Yes, a public API is documented.

What are the alternatives to Grok?

In the same category: Gemini, ChatGPT, LibreChat, and Claude.

Grok or Gemini: which one to choose?

Grok starts at $8 per month, Gemini at $4.99 per month and our score is 66/100 for Grok and 85/100 for Gemini. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score