FRENES

AI coding assistants

Devin: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Devin plans software changes, writes code and runs tests to correct errors. It serves people who want to work in existing repositories, prepare merge requests or modernize legacy code. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $20 per month. Access and transparency score: 56/100, #19 of 31 in its category.

Score
56/100
Access 25/30
Openness 10/30
Trust 21/40
Free tierAPIHosting not disclosed

What is Devin?

Devin plans software changes, writes code and runs tests to correct errors. It serves people who want to work in existing repositories, prepare merge requests or modernize legacy code.

According to its documentation, Devin lets you:

  • plan a software change
  • write code in an existing repository
  • run tests and fix errors
  • prepare merge requests
  • modernize legacy code

We file it under AI coding assistants, the category of tools to write and fix code. The category lists 31 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is Cognition AI, Inc., based in United States. The service launched in 2024.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: developers. The need it covers is simple to state: write and fix code.

Devin is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying
  • you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API

The best test is a concrete case from your daily work: if the tool does not beat your current method within a week, move on to an alternative.

How much does Devin cost?

Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $20 per month (Pro, individual plan; overages may incur additional charges), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is more expensive than the category median ($15 per month, based on tools with a published price).

TRAETRAE : $3$3GoCodeoGoCodeo : $7.08$7.08CursorCursor : $8$8dbForge AI AssistantdbForge AI Assistant : $9.95$9.95OpenCodeOpenCode : $10$10KiloKilo : $15$15Amazon Q DeveloperAmazon Q Developer : $19$19Google AntigravityGoogle Antigravity : $19.99$19.99KombaiKombai : $20$20DevinDevin : $20$20QodoQodo : $30$30
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12). Sample of 12 tools out of 21.

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

No export feature is documented: keep a copy of your content elsewhere.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Devin runs on: web browser, API, Slack, and Microsoft Teams.

Interface languages: English.

A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.

How we scored it

Our 56/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Devin score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness10/30API, data export, open code
Trust21/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
CodexCodex : 9090aideraider : 7878KiloKilo : 7878GitHub CopilotGitHub Copilot : 7575Amazon Q DeveloperAmazon Q Developer : 7171OpenCodeOpenCode : 7171AmpAmp : 7070ContinueContinue : 6868CursorCursor : 6565GoCodeoGoCodeo : 6161DevinDevin : 5656
Devin ranks #19 of 31. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Devin against other tools in the aI coding assistants category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
DevinYes$20 per monthYes56
CodexYes$8 per monthYes90
aiderYesnot publishedYes78
KiloYes$15 per monthYes78
GitHub CopilotYes$10 per monthYes75
Amazon Q DeveloperYes$19 per month–71
OpenCodeYes$10 per monthYes71
AmpYes$20 per monthYes70

Verdict

Devin is a decent option; compare its price and terms with the category leaders.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Public API
  • Available on many platforms

Limitations

  • More expensive than its category median
  • Data hosting not disclosed
  • Data export not documented

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement
  • You need to easily retrieve your full history

Frequently asked questions

Is Devin free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $20 per month.

Where is Devin data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Devin have an API?

Yes, a public API is documented.

What are the alternatives to Devin?

In the same category: Codex, aider, Kilo, and GitHub Copilot.

Devin or Codex: which one to choose?

Devin starts at $20 per month, Codex at $8 per month and our score is 56/100 for Devin and 90/100 for Codex. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score