FRENES

AI coding assistants

OpenCode: review, pricing, data and alternatives

OpenCode helps developers understand a project, write code, and make changes to it. It also lets them run development commands, export a session, and resume that session. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $10 per month. Access and transparency score: 71/100, #6 of 31 in its category.

Free tierOpen sourceAPIHosting not disclosed

What is OpenCode?

OpenCode helps developers understand a project, write code, and make changes to it. It also lets them run development commands, export a session, and resume that session.

According to its documentation, OpenCode lets you:

  • explain how a project works
  • write and edit code
  • run development commands
  • export and resume a session

We file it under AI coding assistants, the category of tools to write and fix code, and it also overlaps with aI agent builders. The category lists 31 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is Anomaly Innovations, Inc., based in United States.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: developers. The need it covers is simple to state: write and fix code.

OpenCode is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying
  • you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API
  • you want to read the code or host it yourself

Before deciding, run a trial on a real task and measure the time saved: it is the only criterion that really counts.

How much does OpenCode cost?

Pricing model: open source (public code). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $10 per month (OpenCode Go, optional model subscription; the software can be used for free), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is cheaper than the category median ($15 per month, based on tools with a published price).

TRAETRAE : $3$3GoCodeoGoCodeo : $7.08$7.08CursorCursor : $8$8dbForge AI AssistantdbForge AI Assistant : $9.95$9.95StenographyStenography : $10$10OpenCodeOpenCode : $10$10Claude CodeClaude Code : $16.67$16.67Amazon Q Developer CLIAmazon Q Developer CLI : $19$19AmpAmp : $20$20DevinDevin : $20$20QodoQodo : $30$30
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12). Sample of 12 tools out of 21.

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

Exporting your content: JSON des sessions. Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

OpenCode runs on: web browser, Windows, macOS, Linux, and API.

Interface languages: English.

A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.

The source code is public: anomalycoanomalyco/opencode.

How we scored it

Our 71/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

OpenCode score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness30/30API, data export, open code
Trust16/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
CodexCodex : 9090aideraider : 7878KiloKilo : 7878GitHub CopilotGitHub Copilot : 7575Amazon Q DeveloperAmazon Q Developer : 7171OpenCodeOpenCode : 7171AmpAmp : 7070ContinueContinue : 6868CursorCursor : 6565GoCodeoGoCodeo : 6161
OpenCode ranks #6 of 31. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

OpenCode against other tools in the aI coding assistants category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
OpenCodeYes$10 per monthYes71
CodexYes$8 per monthYes90
aiderYesnot publishedYes78
KiloYes$15 per monthYes78
GitHub CopilotYes$10 per monthYes75
Amazon Q DeveloperYes$19 per month–71
AmpYes$20 per monthYes70
ContinueYesnot published–68

Verdict

OpenCode is among the most accessible and transparent tools in its category.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Cheaper than its category median
  • Public API
  • Public source code
  • Available on many platforms

Limitations

  • Data hosting not disclosed

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement

Frequently asked questions

Is OpenCode free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $10 per month.

Where is OpenCode data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does OpenCode have an API?

Yes, a public API is documented.

What are the alternatives to OpenCode?

In the same category: Codex, aider, Kilo, and GitHub Copilot.

OpenCode or Codex: which one to choose?

OpenCode starts at $10 per month, Codex at $8 per month and our score is 71/100 for OpenCode and 90/100 for Codex. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score