FRENES

AI photo editing

Luminar Neo: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Luminar Neo helps people editing photos remove elements, expand image boundaries, and replace elements through generation. It also supports photo restoration and applying adjustments to multiple images. There is no free tier; the first paid plan costs $99 one-off payment. Access and transparency score: 35/100, #24 of 24 in its category.

Score
35/100
Access 15/30
Openness 10/30
Trust 10/40
Paid onlyHosting not disclosed

What is Luminar Neo?

Luminar Neo helps people editing photos remove elements, expand image boundaries, and replace elements through generation. It also supports photo restoration and applying adjustments to multiple images.

According to its documentation, Luminar Neo lets you:

  • remove elements from a photo
  • expand an image's frame
  • replace elements through generation
  • restore photos
  • apply adjustments to multiple images

We file it under AI photo editing, the category of tools to edit, cut out and upscale photos. The category lists 24 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is Shinyfields Limited, based in Cyprus.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: graphic designers, social media managers, and online retailers. The need it covers is simple to state: edit, cut out and upscale photos.

Before deciding, run a trial on a real task and measure the time saved: it is the only criterion that really counts.

How much does Luminar Neo cost?

Pricing model: paid. No permanent free plan is offered.

The first paid plan costs $99 one-off payment (Desktop Only, perpetual license at the displayed promotional price; generative tools included for one year), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

Exporting your content: JPEG, PNG, TIFF, PSD, DNG. Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Luminar Neo runs on: Windows and macOS.

The interface is available in 16 languages.

API availability is not documented.

How we scored it

Our 35/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Luminar Neo score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access15/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness10/30API, data export, open code
Trust10/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
remove.bgremove.bg : 8181PicsartPicsart : 8080Cleanup.picturesCleanup.pictures : 7878HitPaw Online Photo EnhancerHitPaw Online Photo Enhancer : 7373FotorFotor : 6868Colorize.ccColorize.cc : 6868PalettePalette : 6868AVCLabs Photo Enhancer AIAVCLabs Photo Enhancer AI : 6868AVCLabs PhotoPro AIAVCLabs PhotoPro AI : 6868WaifuXLWaifuXL : 6868Luminar NeoLuminar Neo : 3535
Luminar Neo ranks #24 of 24. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Luminar Neo against other tools in the aI photo editing category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
Luminar NeoNo$99 one-off payment–35
remove.bgYes$3 pay as you goYes81
PicsartYes¥1,699 per monthYes80
Cleanup.picturesYes$36 per yearYes78
HitPaw Online Photo EnhancerYes$9.99 pay as you goYes73
FotorYesnot publishedYes68
Colorize.ccYes$12 one-off paymentYes68
PaletteYes$72 per yearYes68

Verdict

Luminar Neo publishes little verifiable information: look at the better-scored alternatives first.

Limitations

  • No free tier
  • Data hosting not disclosed

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement

Frequently asked questions

Is Luminar Neo free?

No, there is no permanent free plan. The first paid plan costs $99 one-off payment.

Where is Luminar Neo data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Luminar Neo have an API?

It is not documented.

What are the alternatives to Luminar Neo?

In the same category: remove.bg, Picsart, Cleanup.pictures, and HitPaw Online Photo Enhancer.

Luminar Neo or remove.bg: which one to choose?

Remove.bg has a free tier, Luminar Neo does not, Luminar Neo starts at $99 one-off payment, remove.bg at $3 pay as you go, and our score is 35/100 for Luminar Neo and 81/100 for remove.bg. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score