SEO
Frase: review, pricing, data and alternatives
Frase helps people write content for search engines by preparing outlines and evaluating optimization. It also tracks visibility in AI responses, publishes to a CMS and identifies pages with declining performance. There is no free tier; the first paid plan costs $39 per month. Access and transparency score: 50/100, #8 of 13 in its category.
What is Frase?
Frase helps people write content for search engines by preparing outlines and evaluating optimization. It also tracks visibility in AI responses, publishes to a CMS and identifies pages with declining performance.
According to its documentation, Frase lets you:
- prepare article outlines
- write content
- evaluate its optimization for search engines
- track visibility in AI responses
- publish to a CMS
- identify pages with declining performance
We file it under SEO, the category of tools to improve search rankings, and it also overlaps with aI writing tools and marketing. The category lists 13 verified tools on this site.
The publisher is Copysmith AI, Inc., based in United States. The service launched in 2017, which gives it some track record.
Who is it for?
It is mostly useful to these profiles: content writers, marketers, and freelancers. The need it covers is simple to state: improve search rankings.
Frase is a good candidate if:
- you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API
Before deciding, run a trial on a real task and measure the time saved: it is the only criterion that really counts.
How much does Frase cost?
Pricing model: paid. No permanent free plan is offered.
The first paid plan costs $39 per month (Starter, annual billing; USD 49 with monthly billing. 7-day free trial), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.
Per month, that is close to the category median ($44 per month, based on tools with a published price).
To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.
Data and privacy
The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.
For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.
Exporting your content: yes (details on the official site). Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.
Three habits apply to every AI tool:
- turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
- use a work account separate from your personal account
- review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it
Platforms, languages and API
Frase runs on: web browser and API.
Interface languages are not specified.
A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.
How we scored it
Our 50/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.
| Criterion | Points | What counts |
|---|---|---|
| Access | 10/30 | free tier, published price, French interface |
| Openness | 20/30 | API, data export, open code |
| Trust | 20/40 | identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists |
The full calculation is explained on our method page.
Comparison with alternatives
Frase against other tools in the sEO category:
| Tool | Free | Entry price | API | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Frase | No | $39 per month | Yes | 50 |
| Ahrefs | Yes | $29 per month | Yes | 70 |
| AuditZap | Yes | $9 one-off payment | Yes | 68 |
| BacklinkGPT | Yes | $149 per month | Yes | 68 |
| LLM Optimizer | Yes | not published | Yes | 68 |
| Writesonic | No | $79 per month | Yes | 66 |
| Semrush | Yes | $117.33 per month | Yes | 65 |
| AirOps | Yes | not published | Yes | 58 |
Verdict
Frase publishes little verifiable information: look at the better-scored alternatives first.
Strengths
- Public API
- Established since 2017
Limitations
- No free tier
- Data hosting not disclosed
Avoid if…
- You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement
Alternatives
- Ahrefsfree tier
- AuditZapfree tier
- BacklinkGPTfree tier
- LLM Optimizerfree tier
- Writesonic$79 per month
- Semrushfree tier
Categories and jobs
Learn more
Frequently asked questions
Is Frase free?
No, there is no permanent free plan. The first paid plan costs $39 per month.
Where is Frase data stored?
The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.
Does Frase have an API?
Yes, a public API is documented.
What are the alternatives to Frase?
In the same category: Ahrefs, AuditZap, BacklinkGPT, and LLM Optimizer.
Frase or Ahrefs: which one to choose?
Ahrefs has a free tier, Frase does not, Frase starts at $39 per month, Ahrefs at $29 per month, and our score is 50/100 for Frase and 70/100 for Ahrefs. Try both on the same task before paying.
Related articles
- Creating videos with AI: what works todayOctober 10, 2026
- Generating images with AI: tools, pricing, and limitationsOctober 9, 2026
- How to use NotebookLM: a complete guideOctober 8, 2026
- Free ChatGPT alternatives: what they actually offerOctober 7, 2026
Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score