FRENES

LLMOps and observability

Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey lets teams route requests between multiple models. It tracks costs and response times, applies rules, and manages access and budgets for each team. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $49 per month. Access and transparency score: 71/100, #8 of 18 in its category.

Score
71/100
Access 25/30
Openness 20/30
Trust 26/40
Free tierOpen sourceAPIHosting not disclosed

What is Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey?

Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey lets teams route requests between multiple models. It tracks costs and response times, applies rules, and manages access and budgets for each team.

According to its documentation, Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey lets you:

  • route requests between multiple models
  • track costs and response times
  • apply rules to requests and responses
  • manage access and budgets by team

We file it under LLMOps and observability, the category of tools to evaluate, monitor and debug AI apps, and it also overlaps with model APIs and platforms and security and privacy. The category lists 18 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is Palo Alto Networks. The service launched in 2023, which gives it some track record.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: developers and data analysts. The need it covers is simple to state: evaluate, monitor and debug AI apps.

Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying
  • you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API
  • you want to read the code or host it yourself

Before deciding, run a trial on a real task and measure the time saved: it is the only criterion that really counts.

How much does Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey cost?

Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $49 per month (Production, pricing still published on the official Portkey page), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is close to the category median ($49 per month, based on tools with a published price).

EvaligoEvaligo : $7$7LunaryLunary : $20$20Maxim AIMaxim AI : $29$29Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — PortkeyPrisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey : $49$49Weights & BiasesWeights & Biases : $60$60LLM StatsLLM Stats : $99$99OvermindOvermind : $120$120
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12). Sample of 12 tools out of 13.

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

No export feature is documented: keep a copy of your content elsewhere.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey runs on: web browser and API.

Interface languages: English.

A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.

The source code is public: Portkey-AIPortkey-AI/gateway.

How we scored it

Our 71/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness20/30API, data export, open code
Trust26/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
LangfuseLangfuse : 9595LangSmithLangSmith : 8585OpikOpik : 8383Arize PhoenixArize Phoenix : 8181OvermindOvermind : 7878MLflowMLflow : 7878RespanRespan : 7171Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — PortkeyPrisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey : 7171LunaryLunary : 6868TruLensTruLens : 6868
Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey ranks #8 of 18. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey against other tools in the lLMOps and observability category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — PortkeyYes$49 per monthYes71
LangfuseYes$29 per monthYes95
LangSmithYes$39 per monthYes85
OpikYes$19 per monthYes83
Arize PhoenixYesnot publishedYes81
OvermindYes$120 per monthYes78
MLflowYesnot publishedYes78
RespanYes$199 per monthYes71

Verdict

Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey is a decent option; compare its price and terms with the category leaders.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Public API
  • Public source code
  • Established since 2023

Limitations

  • Data hosting not disclosed
  • Data export not documented

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement
  • You need to easily retrieve your full history

Frequently asked questions

Is Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $49 per month.

Where is Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey have an API?

Yes, a public API is documented.

What are the alternatives to Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey?

In the same category: Langfuse, LangSmith, Opik, and Arize Phoenix.

Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey or Langfuse: which one to choose?

Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey starts at $49 per month, Langfuse at $29 per month and our score is 71/100 for Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey and 95/100 for Langfuse. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score