FRENES

LLMOps and observability

Maxim AI: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Maxim AI supports teams evaluating AI models and agents. It compares prompts, simulates conversations, measures response quality, examines production execution steps and triggers alerts when regressions occur. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $29 per month. Access and transparency score: 58/100, #14 of 18 in its category.

Score
58/100
Access 25/30
Openness 20/30
Trust 13/40
Free tierAPIHosting not disclosed

What is Maxim AI?

Maxim AI supports teams evaluating AI models and agents. It compares prompts, simulates conversations, measures response quality, examines production execution steps and triggers alerts when regressions occur.

According to its documentation, Maxim AI lets you:

  • compare multiple prompts and models
  • simulate conversations with agents
  • measure response quality
  • examine execution steps in production
  • trigger alerts when regressions occur

We file it under LLMOps and observability, the category of tools to evaluate, monitor and debug AI apps, and it also overlaps with developer tools. The category lists 18 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is H3 Labs Inc., based in United States.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: developers and project managers. The need it covers is simple to state: evaluate, monitor and debug AI apps.

Maxim AI is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying
  • you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API

Before deciding, run a trial on a real task and measure the time saved: it is the only criterion that really counts.

How much does Maxim AI cost?

Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $29 per month (Professional, per seat, billed monthly on the official evaluation platform page), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is cheaper than the category median ($49 per month, based on tools with a published price).

EvaligoEvaligo : $7$7LunaryLunary : $20$20Maxim AIMaxim AI : $29$29LangSmithLangSmith : $39$39Weights & BiasesWeights & Biases : $60$60LLM StatsLLM Stats : $99$99OvermindOvermind : $120$120
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12). Sample of 12 tools out of 13.

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

Exporting your content: CSV et extraction par API. Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Maxim AI runs on: web browser and API.

Interface languages: English.

A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.

How we scored it

Our 58/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Maxim AI score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness20/30API, data export, open code
Trust13/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
LangfuseLangfuse : 9595LangSmithLangSmith : 8585OpikOpik : 8383Arize PhoenixArize Phoenix : 8181OvermindOvermind : 7878MLflowMLflow : 7878RespanRespan : 7171Prisma AIRS AI Gateway — PortkeyPrisma AIRS AI Gateway — Portkey : 7171LunaryLunary : 6868TruLensTruLens : 6868Maxim AIMaxim AI : 5858
Maxim AI ranks #14 of 18. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Maxim AI against other tools in the lLMOps and observability category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
Maxim AIYes$29 per monthYes58
LangfuseYes$29 per monthYes95
LangSmithYes$39 per monthYes85
OpikYes$19 per monthYes83
Arize PhoenixYesnot publishedYes81
OvermindYes$120 per monthYes78
MLflowYesnot publishedYes78
RespanYes$199 per monthYes71

Verdict

Maxim AI is a decent option; compare its price and terms with the category leaders.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Cheaper than its category median
  • Public API

Limitations

  • Data hosting not disclosed

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement

Frequently asked questions

Is Maxim AI free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $29 per month.

Where is Maxim AI data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Maxim AI have an API?

Yes, a public API is documented.

What are the alternatives to Maxim AI?

In the same category: Langfuse, LangSmith, Opik, and Arize Phoenix.

Maxim AI or Langfuse: which one to choose?

Our score is 58/100 for Maxim AI and 95/100 for Langfuse. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score