AI for documents and PDFs
Humata: review, pricing, data and alternatives
Humata lets users and teams ask questions about documents and summarize multiple files. It displays passages supporting answers and allows a document assistant to be embedded in a web page. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $9.99 per month. Access and transparency score: 55/100, #5 of 11 in its category.
What is Humata?
Humata lets users and teams ask questions about documents and summarize multiple files. It displays passages supporting answers and allows a document assistant to be embedded in a web page.
According to its documentation, Humata lets you:
- ask questions about documents
- summarize information from multiple files
- display passages supporting an answer
- share a document repository with a team
- embed a document assistant in a web page
We file it under AI for documents and PDFs, the category of tools to query and summarise documents, and it also overlaps with enterprise search. The category lists 11 verified tools on this site.
The publisher is Tilda Technologies Inc., based in United States. The service launched in 2023, which gives it some track record.
Who is it for?
It is mostly useful to these profiles: researchers, students, and lawyers. The need it covers is simple to state: query and summarise documents.
Humata is a good candidate if:
- you want to try before paying
- you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API
The best test is a concrete case from your daily work: if the tool does not beat your current method within a week, move on to an alternative.
How much does Humata cost?
Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.
The first paid plan costs $9.99 per month (Expert, billed monthly, with 500 pages included and up to three users), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.
Per month, that is close to the category median ($9.93 per month, based on tools with a published price).
To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.
Data and privacy
The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.
For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.
No export feature is documented: keep a copy of your content elsewhere.
Three habits apply to every AI tool:
- turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
- use a work account separate from your personal account
- review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it
Platforms, languages and API
Humata runs on: web browser and API.
Interface languages are not specified.
A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.
How we scored it
Our 55/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.
| Criterion | Points | What counts |
|---|---|---|
| Access | 25/30 | free tier, published price, French interface |
| Openness | 10/30 | API, data export, open code |
| Trust | 20/40 | identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists |
The full calculation is explained on our method page.
Comparison with alternatives
Humata against other tools in the aI for documents and PDFs category:
| Tool | Free | Entry price | API | Score |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Humata | Yes | $9.99 per month | Yes | 55 |
| NuExtract | Yes | $1 pay as you go | Yes | 73 |
| Gemini Notebook | Yes | $9.99 per month | Yes | 73 |
| UPDF AI | Yes | not published | – | 60 |
| Documind | Yes | $9.93 per month | Yes | 58 |
| Instafill.ai | No | $99 per month | Yes | 53 |
| SwifDoo PDF | Yes | $1.66 per month | – | 53 |
| ChatPDF | Yes | not published | Yes | 51 |
Verdict
Humata is a decent option; compare its price and terms with the category leaders.
Strengths
- Free tier to try it
- Public API
- Established since 2023
Limitations
- Data hosting not disclosed
- Data export not documented
Avoid if…
- You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement
- You need to easily retrieve your full history
Alternatives
- NuExtractfree tier
- Gemini Notebookfree tier
- UPDF AIfree tier
- Documindfree tier
- Instafill.ai$99 per month
- SwifDoo PDFfree tier
Categories and jobs
Learn more
Frequently asked questions
Is Humata free?
Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $9.99 per month.
Where is Humata data stored?
The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.
Does Humata have an API?
Yes, a public API is documented.
What are the alternatives to Humata?
In the same category: NuExtract, Gemini Notebook, UPDF AI, and Documind.
Humata or NuExtract: which one to choose?
Humata starts at $9.99 per month, NuExtract at $1 pay as you go and our score is 55/100 for Humata and 73/100 for NuExtract. Try both on the same task before paying.
Related articles
- Creating videos with AI: what works todayOctober 10, 2026
- Generating images with AI: tools, pricing, and limitationsOctober 9, 2026
- How to use NotebookLM: a complete guideOctober 8, 2026
- Free ChatGPT alternatives: what they actually offerOctober 7, 2026
Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score