Poe: Quora's platform for chatting with many AI models
Poe is a Quora platform that gives you access to models from OpenAI, Anthropic, Google and many others in a single app, alongside bots created by users. Everything runs on points, handed out daily for free or included in a subscription.
Data as of October 22, 2026
Key figures
| Developer | Quora |
|---|---|
| Country | United States |
| Launched | Not disclosed |
| Free version | Yes, limited |
| Plans | from $4.99 per month |
| Official website | poe.com |
Features
| Features | |
|---|---|
| Web search | Not disclosed |
| Agent mode | Not disclosed |
| File upload | Yes |
| Image generation | Yes |
| Voice mode | Not disclosed |
| Memory | Yes |
| Code execution | Yes |
| Autonomous browsing | Not disclosed |
Where to use it
| Where to use it | |
|---|---|
| Web | Yes |
| iPhone | Yes |
| Android | Yes |
| Windows | Yes |
| macOS | Yes |
| Browser extension | Not disclosed |
| French interface | Yes |
| Spanish interface | Yes |
Privacy
| Privacy | |
|---|---|
| Opt out of training on your chats | Not disclosed |
| Temporary chat | Yes |
| EU data residency | Not disclosed |
A hub for models rather than a single assistant
Poe does not build its own models: it is a platform that connects you to bots from many providers. You will find models from OpenAI, Anthropic, Google and Meta, image, video and audio generators, and a huge range of user-made bots, some of which run code or display interactive canvases. You can also build your own bot from a prompt.
Apps are available on the web, iOS and Android, macOS and Windows. Useful extras include Memory (off by default), which carries your preferences from one chat to the next, temporary chats deleted within 24 hours, and group chats.
How the points system works
Every bot spends points to reply. The cost depends on the bot: a fixed price per image, or a variable amount based on how much text it reads and writes, measured in tokens. Free accounts get points every day, and unused points do not roll over. Subscribers get more and can buy extra points at $30 per million.
As of October 22, 2026, the official FAQ lists subscriptions « starting at $4.99/month »; the other monthly and annual tiers appear once you sign in. A subscription can be shared with family or a team, who then draw on the same points. In practice, a long conversation with a top-tier model burns through points quickly; the token estimator gives you a feel for how long your messages are.
Privacy: check the shield
Quora is the data controller. Poe’s privacy center explains that your chats reach the model provider without your name or email address. Each bot shows a shield: fully shaded means the provider cannot use your chats for training; half-shaded means the bot’s developer may see them and use them. Providers set their own retention periods, for example 30 days at OpenAI and Anthropic according to Poe.
Poe is available in Europe and the UK; no EU data hosting option is mentioned. The official privacy center explains these rules in full.
Models used
- GPT-5
- Claude-Sonnet-5
- DeepSeek-R1
- Veo-3.1
Strengths
writing · creating images · coding
AI assistants
- Apple Intelligence et Siri AI · Apple
- Brave Leo · Brave Software
- Character.AI · Character Technologies, Inc.
- ChatGPT · OpenAI
- Claude · Anthropic
- Microsoft Copilot · Microsoft
Frequently asked questions
Is Poe free?
Yes, with limits: free accounts get daily points that reset every 24 hours. Subscribers get more points and access to subscriber-only bots.
How much is a Poe subscription?
The official FAQ says plans start at $4.99 a month, billed monthly or yearly. The full list of tiers appears once you are signed in. Extra points cost $30 per million.
Does Poe use my chats to train models?
According to Quora, official bots and prompt bots built on OpenAI, Anthropic, Google and Meta models do not train on your chats. Third-party developer bots, marked with a half-shaded shield, may do so.
Can I share my Poe plan with family or a team?
Yes. From Settings on poe.com you can invite members, who then draw on the same pool of points. Only the subscriber can buy extra points, and members can be removed at any time.
Data sources
Data as of October 22, 2026
Report an error
Does a figure, a date or a fact look wrong? Tell us: every report is checked.