GLM-5 or GLM-5.3-Flash: which to choose?
GLM-5 (Zhipu AI (Z.ai)) and GLM-5.3-Flash (Zhipu AI (Z.ai)) compared point by point: measured performance, pricing, context and capabilities.
Data as of October 22, 2026
Side-by-side comparison
| Criterion | GLM-5 | GLM-5.3-Flash |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Zhipu AI (Z.ai) | Zhipu AI (Z.ai) |
| Released | February 12, 2026 | September 18, 2026 |
| Capability index | 77.2 / 100 | 71.9 / 100 |
| Input price | $0.60 | $0.30 |
| Output price | $2.69 | $1.05 |
| Cost of a typical task | $0.017 | $0.008 |
| Context window | 204,800 tokens | 1,000,000 tokens |
| Maximum output | 131,072 tokens | 131,072 tokens |
| Reasoning mode | Yes | Yes |
| Tool calling | Yes | Yes |
| Accepted inputs | text | text, image, video, PDF |
| Open weights | Yes | Yes |
| Knowledge cutoff | Not disclosed | Not disclosed |
What are we comparing?
This comparison pits two open-weight models that you can install on your own servers against each other: GLM-5 and GLM-5.3-Flash, both built by Zhipu AI (Z.ai). The first dates from February 12, 2026, the second from September 18, 2026.
All figures below come from public sources checked on October 22, 2026: models.dev and OpenRouter for prices and capabilities, Epoch AI for scores.
Performance
On our capability index, GLM-5 scores 77.2 out of 100 and GLM-5.3-Flash 71.9. GLM-5 leads by 5.3 points.
On the 2 benchmarks reported for both, GLM-5 wins 0 times and GLM-5.3-Flash 2:
- GPQA Diamond (PhD-level science questions): GLM-5 87.8%, GLM-5.3-Flash 90.2%
- OTIS Mock AIME (competition mathematics problems): GLM-5 80%, GLM-5.3-Flash 93.9%
Pricing
GLM-5 costs $0.60 per million input tokens and $2.69 per million output tokens; GLM-5.3-Flash costs $0.30 and $1.05.
For a typical agent task (read 20,000 tokens, write 2,000), expect $0.017 with GLM-5 versus $0.008 with GLM-5.3-Flash. GLM-5.3-Flash is 2.1 times cheaper, a gap that adds up quickly over 1,000 tasks: $9.26 difference.
Run the numbers with your own volumes in the agent cost calculator.
Features and limits
GLM-5.3-Flash reads more in one go: 1,000,000 tokens of context (roughly 1,500 pages), versus 204,800 for GLM-5.
Reasoning mode: GLM-5 yes, GLM-5.3-Flash yes. Tool calling: GLM-5 yes, GLM-5.3-Flash yes. Image input: GLM-5 no, GLM-5.3-Flash yes.
Both publish their weights: you can host them yourself.
In short
Our reading of the data:
- Choose GLM-5 for a higher capability index.
- Choose GLM-5.3-Flash for a lower cost, a larger context window, a more recent release and image input.
This verdict relies on public figures; it does not replace a trial on your own tasks.
Other comparisons
Frequently asked questions
GLM-5 or GLM-5.3-Flash: which is better?
On our index (Epoch AI data), GLM-5 scores 77.2 and GLM-5.3-Flash 71.9 out of 100. The best choice also depends on price and on your use case.
Which one is cheaper?
GLM-5.3-Flash. To read 20,000 tokens and write 2,000, expect $0.017 with GLM-5 and $0.008 with GLM-5.3-Flash (prices as of October 22, 2026).
Which one has the larger context window?
GLM-5.3-Flash, with 1,000,000 tokens versus 204,800.
Can I run GLM-5 or GLM-5.3-Flash on my own servers?
Yes, both publish their weights. Check each license before commercial use.
Data sources
- Models.dev — Model data: models.dev (open-source project)
- OpenRouter — Market prices cross-checked with OpenRouter
- Epoch AI — AI Benchmarking Hub — Epoch AI, “AI Benchmarking Hub”, epoch.ai, CC BY 4.0
Data as of October 22, 2026
Report an error
Does a figure, a date or a fact look wrong? Tell us: every report is checked.