AI tools comparison
LM Studio vs Ollama: 2026 comparison
Across 7 comparable criteria, LM Studio wins 1, Ollama wins 1, with 5 ties. LM Studio leads on recognition; Ollama on open source.
LM Studio and Ollama in brief
LM Studio and Ollama both let you run language models on your own computer without paying for local execution. Both also include options involving remote services. LM Studio highlights conversations, offline document questions and an interface available in fifteen languages. Ollama combines an application and API with hosted models and support for coding assistants using open models. Your choice therefore depends on how you want to work with models, as well as where you want those models to run.
LM Studio : LM Studio downloads language models and lets people chat with them on their computer. It serves users who want to query documents offline or serve a model through a local API.
Ollama : Ollama lets people using models download and run them on their computers. It provides an application for conversations, API access, remote hosted models, and support for coding assistants using open models.
Both meet the same need, which makes the comparison useful. We compare them on 10 verifiable criteria, using the same data as their profiles, collected from official sites.
Comparison table
| Criterion | LM Studio | Ollama |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Local LLM tools | Local LLM tools |
| Website | lmstudio.ai | ollama.com |
| Publisher | Element Labs, Inc. | Ollama Inc. |
| Country | United States | United States |
| Pricing model | freemium (limited free use, then paid) | open source (public code) |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Entry price | $20 per month | $20 per month |
| Platforms | Windows, macOS, Linux, API | Windows, macOS, Linux, API |
| API | Yes | Yes |
| Data hosting | In several regions depending on the plan | In several regions depending on the plan |
| Source code | closed | public |
| Site score | 90/100 | 71/100 |
Criterion by criterion
For each criterion: why it matters, each one's value and who has the edge. A criterion without data on both sides is not decided.
Free tier
A free tier lets you test the tool on your own examples before paying anything. LM Studio : yes. Ollama : yes. A tie on this point.
Entry price
The first paid plan, per month, gives the minimum cost of regular use; higher plans cost more. LM Studio : $20 per month. Ollama : $20 per month. A tie on this point.
Public API
An API lets you connect the tool to your software, an automation tool or an AI agent. LM Studio : yes. Ollama : yes. A tie on this point.
Data export
Being able to get your content back avoids lock-in the day you want to switch tools. LM Studio : yes. Ollama : not disclosed. Cannot be decided: data missing on one side.
Data hosting
Where data is stored matters for GDPR and client data: the EU or local processing make compliance simpler. LM Studio : several regions. Ollama : several regions. A tie on this point.
Interface languages
More interface languages make the tool easier to roll out across an international team. LM Studio : 15. Ollama : not published. Cannot be decided: data missing on one side.
Platforms
The more platforms (web, desktop, mobile, extension), the better the tool fits your daily routine. LM Studio : Windows, macOS, Linux, and API. Ollama : Windows, macOS, Linux, and API. A tie on this point.
Open source
Public code lets you audit the tool, self-host it and keep using it if the publisher changes course. LM Studio : no. Ollama : yes. Edge: Ollama.
Track record
A tool launched several years ago has a longer history: less risk of sudden shutdown, more user feedback. LM Studio : launched in 2023. Ollama : not published. Cannot be decided: data missing on one side.
Recognition
The number of reference community lists citing the tool shows how well known it is among practitioners. LM Studio : cited in 3 lists. Ollama : cited in 2 lists. Edge: LM Studio.
In charts
Our analysis
LM Studio brings together several stages of working with local models: downloading them, holding conversations, questioning documents offline and serving a model through a local API. Its interface supports fifteen languages, including French and Spanish, which gives users a concrete language access reference. Ollama also supports downloading, running and chatting with models in an application. Its documented functions additionally cover hosted models and coding assistants that work with open models. This may appeal to users connecting several technical tasks. It does not mean Ollama is limited to programming, since ordinary conversation in an application is also explicitly included.
Both products provide free local execution. LM Studio's listed USD 20 monthly price refers to Bionic+, an optional cloud service; the application and local models remain usable without that subscription. Ollama's USD 20 monthly Pro plan concerns hosted models and is billed monthly. Matching headline prices do not establish that the remote services offer equivalent allowances or capabilities, since those details are not supplied. LM Studio scores 90 out of 100 for access and transparency, compared with Ollama's 71. These figures describe access and transparency rather than the quality, speed or reasoning ability of the models you choose to run.
The software differs clearly on openness: LM Studio is closed source, while Ollama is open source. That distinction applies to the tools and does not automatically describe the terms attached to every model they can use. Both records describe mixed data hosting, reflecting the availability of local and remote uses. LM Studio explicitly supports questioning documents offline, but that property should not be extended to every cloud workflow. The supplied information does not explain retention or other processing conditions for remote conversations. Privacy therefore needs to be considered for the specific execution path you intend to use in practice.
Both tools are available on Windows, macOS and Linux and provide an API. LM Studio specifies JSON exports for conversations saved locally, which matters if you want those records in that format. No export format is supplied for Ollama, and its interface languages are not disclosed. For everyday work, LM Studio documents a clear combination of conversation and offline document use. Ollama explicitly includes hosted models and connections to coding assistants using open models. Neither record provides hardware requirements, execution speeds or detailed model compatibility limits. Those missing specifications prevent a more precise comparison for a particular computer or workload.
Depending on your situation
The right choice depends on use. For a few common situations, here are the criteria that matter and who wins (LM Studio value / Ollama value).
Personal use on a tight budget
Neither stands out on the criteria for this situation (free tier (yes / yes), entry price ($20 per month / $20 per month), and interface languages (15 / not published)): decide with a trial.
Business use with client data
Neither stands out on the criteria for this situation (data hosting (several regions / several regions), data export (yes / not disclosed), and track record (launched in 2023 / not published)): decide with a trial.
Integration with your software
Here, Ollama has the edge: it wins 1 of the 3 criteria that matter in this situation, namely public api (yes / yes), open source (no / yes), and platforms (Windows, macOS, Linux, and API / Windows, macOS, Linux, and API).
Which one to choose?
Choose LM Studio if…
- you value recognition (cited in 3 lists)
LM Studio is a logical option if you want local conversations and offline document questions in an interface with published language support, including French and Spanish. JSON exports of locally saved chats may also fit your record keeping. The application and local models remain free to use even if you do not subscribe to the optional Bionic+ cloud service.
Choose Ollama if…
- you value open source (yes)
Ollama suits users who value open source software and want an application, an API and free local model execution. Its listed functions also cover hosted models and coding assistants working with open models. That combination is relevant when your needs extend across local use and development workflows, with Pro available separately for the hosted model side of the service.
Strengths and limits of each
LM Studio
- + Free tier to try it
- + Public API
- + Established since 2023
Ollama
- + Free tier to try it
- + Public API
- + Public source code
- − Data export not documented
The best test is still yours: take three real tasks from your day and give them to both for a week.
What about the others?
If neither suits you, look at PyGPT, Jan, GPT4All, and Msty.
Related comparisons:
Conclusion
LM Studio offers documented interface languages, offline document questioning and local JSON conversation exports. Ollama offers open source code and explicit support for hosted models and coding assistants using open models. Both let you begin locally for free. Choose around your workflow and openness requirements. Their access and transparency scores do not tell you which underlying model will produce better answers for your tasks on your computer.
Verdict
A tie on criteria won (1 each): the choice depends on what matters most to you.
Full profiles
Learn more
Frequently asked questions
LM Studio or Ollama: which is better?
A tie on criteria won (1 each): the choice depends on what matters most to you.
What is the main difference between LM Studio and Ollama?
LM Studio leads on recognition (cited in 3 lists vs cited in 2 lists), Ollama on open source (yes vs no).
Are LM Studio and Ollama free?
Free tier: LM Studio, yes; Ollama, yes.
Which one is cheaper?
Entry price: LM Studio, $20 per month; Ollama, $20 per month.
Which one protects my data better?
Data hosting: LM Studio, several regions; Ollama, several regions. For sensitive data, also check the publisher's data processing agreement.
What alternative to LM Studio and Ollama?
In the same family: PyGPT, Jan, and GPT4All.
Related articles
- Creating videos with AI: what works todayOctober 10, 2026
- Generating images with AI: tools, pricing, and limitationsOctober 9, 2026
- How to use NotebookLM: a complete guideOctober 8, 2026
- Free ChatGPT alternatives: what they actually offerOctober 7, 2026
Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score