AI tools comparison
Ollama vs PyGPT: 2026 comparison
Across 5 comparable criteria, Ollama wins 2, PyGPT wins 1, with 2 ties. Ollama leads on platforms and recognition; PyGPT on data hosting.
Ollama and PyGPT in brief
Ollama and PyGPT both provide ways to work with local or remote models, but their roles differ. Ollama emphasises downloading, running and calling models through an API, alongside an application for chatting. PyGPT brings conversation, files, agents, images, video and voice into a desktop environment. Both are open source and offer free access. The main question is whether you primarily need a way to run models and connect them to other software, or an application that combines several everyday AI tasks.
Ollama : Ollama lets people using models download and run them on their computers. It provides an application for conversations, API access, remote hosted models, and support for coding assistants using open models.
PyGPT : PyGPT lets users chat with local or remote models and query their files on Windows, macOS and Linux. It also serves people creating agents, generating images or videos and using speech features.
Both meet the same need, which makes the comparison useful. We compare them on 10 verifiable criteria, using the same data as their profiles, collected from official sites.
Comparison table
| Criterion | Ollama | PyGPT |
|---|---|---|
| Category | Local LLM tools | Local LLM tools |
| Website | ollama.com | pygpt.net |
| Publisher | Ollama Inc. | Marcin Szczygliński |
| Country | United States | Poland |
| Pricing model | open source (public code) | open source (public code) |
| Free tier | Yes | Yes |
| Platforms | Windows, macOS, Linux, API | Windows, macOS, Linux |
| Data hosting | In several regions depending on the plan | On your device (local processing) |
| Source code | public | public |
| Site score | 71/100 | 73/100 |
Criterion by criterion
For each criterion: why it matters, each one's value and who has the edge. A criterion without data on both sides is not decided.
Free tier
A free tier lets you test the tool on your own examples before paying anything. Ollama : yes. PyGPT : yes. A tie on this point.
Entry price
The first paid plan, per month, gives the minimum cost of regular use; higher plans cost more. Ollama : $20 per month. PyGPT : not published. Cannot be decided: data missing on one side.
Public API
An API lets you connect the tool to your software, an automation tool or an AI agent. Ollama : yes. PyGPT : not disclosed. Cannot be decided: data missing on one side.
Data export
Being able to get your content back avoids lock-in the day you want to switch tools. Ollama : not disclosed. PyGPT : yes. Cannot be decided: data missing on one side.
Data hosting
Where data is stored matters for GDPR and client data: the EU or local processing make compliance simpler. Ollama : several regions. PyGPT : on device. Edge: PyGPT.
Interface languages
More interface languages make the tool easier to roll out across an international team. Ollama : not published. PyGPT : 25. Cannot be decided: data missing on one side.
Platforms
The more platforms (web, desktop, mobile, extension), the better the tool fits your daily routine. Ollama : Windows, macOS, Linux, and API. PyGPT : Windows, macOS, and Linux. Edge: Ollama.
Open source
Public code lets you audit the tool, self-host it and keep using it if the publisher changes course. Ollama : yes. PyGPT : yes. A tie on this point.
Track record
A tool launched several years ago has a longer history: less risk of sudden shutdown, more user feedback. Ollama : not published. PyGPT : launched in 2023. Cannot be decided: data missing on one side.
Recognition
The number of reference community lists citing the tool shows how well known it is among practitioners. Ollama : cited in 2 lists. PyGPT : cited in 1 list. Edge: Ollama.
In charts
Our analysis
Ollama’s listed functions centre on making models available for use. You can download and run them on your computer, chat with them in an application, call them through an API and access remotely hosted models. Support for coding assistants using open models extends that role. PyGPT places more emphasis on the application layer: conversations, questions about files, agents that use tools, image and video generation, and speech recognition and synthesis. These functions describe a wider set of desktop activities. They do not establish identical capabilities across the local and remote models that may be involved, or guarantee equivalent results for each task.
Running models locally with Ollama is free. Its Pro subscription costs 20 USD per month, billed monthly, for hosted models. Local execution and paid remote access should therefore be treated as separate options when estimating costs. PyGPT also has free access, but an entry price is not published in the supplied record. Potential charges for remote models are not detailed either. Ollama’s access and transparency score is 71, compared with 73 for PyGPT; these are not response quality scores. Ollama appears in two community lists and PyGPT in one, but those counts do not establish audience size or active user numbers.
Both products have open source code. Ollama declares mixed hosting, matching its support for local and remote model use. PyGPT lists local hosting, while also allowing conversations with remote models. That combination makes it important to distinguish where the application is hosted from where information goes during an external model request. Local hosting alone does not demonstrate that every available function keeps all data on your computer. The supplied records do not provide detailed data handling conditions for those remote interactions. PyGPT lists TXT and HTML exports and ZIP profiles. Ollama’s export formats are not published in the information provided.
Both applications are available for Windows, macOS and Linux. Ollama explicitly provides an API, which matters if you plan to call models from another program. An API for PyGPT is not specified; the presence of agents using tools does not establish one. PyGPT offers twenty five interface languages, including French and Spanish, while Ollama’s interface languages are not disclosed. Neither record supplies hardware requirements or performance measurements. For everyday adoption, the documented functions are therefore a starting point. You still need to check whether the chosen models and application suit your computer and the way you intend to use them.
Depending on your situation
The right choice depends on use. For a few common situations, here are the criteria that matter and who wins (Ollama value / PyGPT value).
Personal use on a tight budget
Neither stands out on the criteria for this situation (free tier (yes / yes), entry price ($20 per month / not published), and interface languages (not published / 25)): decide with a trial.
Business use with client data
Here, PyGPT has the edge: it wins 1 of the 3 criteria that matter in this situation, namely data hosting (several regions / on device), data export (not disclosed / yes), and track record (not published / launched in 2023).
Integration with your software
Here, Ollama has the edge: it wins 1 of the 3 criteria that matter in this situation, namely public api (yes / not disclosed), open source (yes / yes), and platforms (Windows, macOS, Linux, and API / Windows, macOS, and Linux).
Which one to choose?
Choose Ollama if…
- you value platforms (Windows, macOS, Linux, and API)
- you value recognition (cited in 2 lists)
Ollama fits people who want to download and run models locally or call them from software through an explicitly listed API. Its support for coding assistants using open models also matches programming related work. Separate the free local option from the hosted Pro subscription when deciding which form of access you actually need for your projects.
Choose PyGPT if…
- you value data hosting (on device)
PyGPT makes sense if you want one desktop application for conversations, file questions, tool using agents and multimedia functions. Its French and Spanish interfaces and documented exports may help with regular use. It suits a preference for several tasks in one environment, provided you check the data handling and any charges associated with the remote models you select.
Strengths and limits of each
Ollama
- + Free tier to try it
- + Public API
- + Public source code
- − Data export not documented
PyGPT
- + Free tier to try it
- + Public source code
- + Local processing available
The best test is still yours: take three real tasks from your day and give them to both for a week.
What about the others?
If neither suits you, look at LM Studio, Jan, GPT4All, and Msty.
Related comparisons:
Conclusion
Choose Ollama for its documented model execution and API role, or PyGPT for the broader collection of application functions described here. Both offer open source code, and the small score difference does not measure answer quality. Your final decision should separate local execution from remote requests, then account for your computer’s suitability and the conditions of any external model services involved in your intended use.
Verdict
Ollama leads on more criteria (2 of 5). That does not make it the best choice for everyone: look first at the criteria that matter to you.
Full profiles
Learn more
Frequently asked questions
Ollama or PyGPT: which is better?
Ollama leads on more criteria (2 of 5). That does not make it the best choice for everyone: look first at the criteria that matter to you.
What is the main difference between Ollama and PyGPT?
Ollama leads on platforms (Windows, macOS, Linux, and API vs Windows, macOS, and Linux), PyGPT on data hosting (on device vs several regions).
Are Ollama and PyGPT free?
Free tier: Ollama, yes; PyGPT, yes.
Which one is cheaper?
Entry price: Ollama, $20 per month; PyGPT, not published.
Which one protects my data better?
Data hosting: Ollama, several regions; PyGPT, on device. For sensitive data, also check the publisher's data processing agreement.
What alternative to Ollama and PyGPT?
In the same family: LM Studio, Jan, and GPT4All.
Related articles
- Creating videos with AI: what works todayOctober 10, 2026
- Generating images with AI: tools, pricing, and limitationsOctober 9, 2026
- How to use NotebookLM: a complete guideOctober 8, 2026
- Free ChatGPT alternatives: what they actually offerOctober 7, 2026
Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score