FRENES

AI tools comparison

LM Studio vs PyGPT: 2026 comparison

Across 8 comparable criteria, LM Studio wins 2, PyGPT wins 3, with 3 ties. LM Studio leads on platforms and recognition; PyGPT on data hosting, interface languages, and open source.

8 criteria decidedEdge: PyGPT

LM Studio and PyGPT in brief

LM Studio and PyGPT let you work with language models from a computer, including conversations and questions about your files. Their documented scope differs, however. LM Studio concentrates on local models, offline documents and a local API. PyGPT extends the range to remote models, agents that use tools, image and video generation, and speech features. The useful distinction is therefore how strongly you want to focus on local language model work, and how many different activities you want the application to cover.

LM Studio : LM Studio downloads language models and lets people chat with them on their computer. It serves users who want to query documents offline or serve a model through a local API.

PyGPT : PyGPT lets users chat with local or remote models and query their files on Windows, macOS and Linux. It also serves people creating agents, generating images or videos and using speech features.

Both meet the same need, which makes the comparison useful. We compare them on 10 verifiable criteria, using the same data as their profiles, collected from official sites.

Comparison table

Profile data, checked October 24, 2026.
CriterionLM StudioPyGPT
CategoryLocal LLM toolsLocal LLM tools
Websitelmstudio.aipygpt.net
PublisherElement Labs, Inc.Marcin Szczygliński
CountryUnited StatesPoland
Launched20232023
Pricing modelfreemium (limited free use, then paid)open source (public code)
Free tierYesYes
PlatformsWindows, macOS, Linux, APIWindows, macOS, Linux
Languages15 languages25 languages
Data hostingIn several regions depending on the planOn your device (local processing)
Exportyes (details on the official site)yes (details on the official site)
Source codeclosedpublic
Site score90/10073/100

Criterion by criterion

For each criterion: why it matters, each one's value and who has the edge. A criterion without data on both sides is not decided.

Free tier

A free tier lets you test the tool on your own examples before paying anything. LM Studio : yes. PyGPT : yes. A tie on this point.

Entry price

The first paid plan, per month, gives the minimum cost of regular use; higher plans cost more. LM Studio : $20 per month. PyGPT : not published. Cannot be decided: data missing on one side.

Public API

An API lets you connect the tool to your software, an automation tool or an AI agent. LM Studio : yes. PyGPT : not disclosed. Cannot be decided: data missing on one side.

Data export

Being able to get your content back avoids lock-in the day you want to switch tools. LM Studio : yes. PyGPT : yes. A tie on this point.

Data hosting

Where data is stored matters for GDPR and client data: the EU or local processing make compliance simpler. LM Studio : several regions. PyGPT : on device. Edge: PyGPT.

Interface languages

More interface languages make the tool easier to roll out across an international team. LM Studio : 15. PyGPT : 25. Edge: PyGPT.

Platforms

The more platforms (web, desktop, mobile, extension), the better the tool fits your daily routine. LM Studio : Windows, macOS, Linux, and API. PyGPT : Windows, macOS, and Linux. Edge: LM Studio.

Open source

Public code lets you audit the tool, self-host it and keep using it if the publisher changes course. LM Studio : no. PyGPT : yes. Edge: PyGPT.

Track record

A tool launched several years ago has a longer history: less risk of sudden shutdown, more user feedback. LM Studio : launched in 2023. PyGPT : launched in 2023. A tie on this point.

Recognition

The number of reference community lists citing the tool shows how well known it is among practitioners. LM Studio : cited in 3 lists. PyGPT : cited in 1 list. Edge: LM Studio.

In charts

LM Studio · AccessLM Studio · Access : 30/3030/30PyGPT · AccessPyGPT · Access : 20/3020/30LM Studio · OpennessLM Studio · Openness : 20/3020/30PyGPT · OpennessPyGPT · Openness : 20/3020/30LM Studio · TrustLM Studio · Trust : 40/4040/40PyGPT · TrustPyGPT · Trust : 33/4033/40
Site score components, LM Studio in solid colour. The method is the same for all AI tools.

Our analysis

LM Studio groups its listed functions around running language models locally. You can download models, chat with them on your computer, question documents offline and serve a model through a local API. That is a focused set of functions for working with a model on your own machine. PyGPT covers a broader range: local or remote model conversations, file questions and agents that use tools. It also includes image and video generation, speech recognition and speech synthesis. This wider scope may suit someone bringing several activities together, but the feature list does not establish how well either application performs a particular task.

LM Studio uses a freemium model, while its application and local models remain free to use. The listed USD 20 monthly price applies to Bionic+, an optional cloud service. It should therefore not be presented as a required charge for the documented local workflow. PyGPT is open source and has a free offering, but an entry price is not published. The supplied information does not establish an overall cost for all possible uses. In particular, it does not detail the financial conditions attached to every model, remote service or feature that a user might select within these tools.

LM Studio is not open source and lists mixed hosting, although offline document questions and a local API are explicitly included in its functions. Conversations saved locally can be exported as JSON. PyGPT has open source code and lists local hosting, with TXT and HTML exports and ZIP exports for profiles. Its support for remote models means you should distinguish where the application runs from where data may go in that particular workflow. The supplied information does not describe those remote processing arrangements. Local hosting and code availability are useful distinctions, but neither alone establishes every aspect of a product’s privacy conditions.

Both applications are available on Windows, macOS and Linux. LM Studio lists fifteen interface languages, including French and Spanish, while PyGPT lists twenty-five, also including both. LM Studio’s local API is a documented option for connecting a model to another workflow. API availability for PyGPT is not specified, so the supplied data supports neither confirming nor ruling it out. In everyday use, the decision is mainly between a concentrated local model workflow and a wider set of functions. The scores of 90 and 73 out of 100 describe access and transparency; they do not measure model quality or answer accuracy.

Depending on your situation

The right choice depends on use. For a few common situations, here are the criteria that matter and who wins (LM Studio value / PyGPT value).

Personal use on a tight budget

Here, PyGPT has the edge: it wins 1 of the 3 criteria that matter in this situation, namely free tier (yes / yes), entry price ($20 per month / not published), and interface languages (15 / 25).

Business use with client data

Here, PyGPT has the edge: it wins 1 of the 3 criteria that matter in this situation, namely data hosting (several regions / on device), data export (yes / yes), and track record (launched in 2023 / launched in 2023).

Integration with your software

Neither stands out on the criteria for this situation (public api (yes / not disclosed), open source (no / yes), and platforms (Windows, macOS, Linux, and API / Windows, macOS, and Linux)): decide with a trial.

Which one to choose?

Choose LM Studio if…

  • you value platforms (Windows, macOS, Linux, and API)
  • you value recognition (cited in 3 lists)

LM Studio is a logical fit if you want to download models, chat locally, question documents offline or serve a model through a local API. Its interface includes French and Spanish. The application and local models remain free to use, while the USD 20 monthly Bionic+ cloud service is optional, keeping that subscription separate from the stated local access.

Choose PyGPT if…

  • you value data hosting (on device)
  • you value interface languages (25)
  • you value open source (yes)

PyGPT suits users who want open source software combining conversations, file questions, tool using agents, visual generation and speech features. It also makes sense when access to both local and remote models matters within the same application. Its hosting is described as local, although the data processing implications still depend on whether you choose a remote model for a task.

Strengths and limits of each

LM Studio

  • + Free tier to try it
  • + Public API
  • + Established since 2023

PyGPT

  • + Free tier to try it
  • + Public source code
  • + Local processing available

The best test is still yours: take three real tasks from your day and give them to both for a week.

What about the others?

If neither suits you, look at Ollama, Jan, GPT4All, and Msty.

Related comparisons:

Conclusion

LM Studio is focused on local models, offline documents and serving models through a local API. PyGPT offers open source code and a wider collection of interaction types. Base your decision on the functions you will actually use and where you want your data processed. The published prices describe different things, and the access and transparency scores do not tell you which application will produce better answers with your chosen models.

Verdict

PyGPT leads on more criteria (3 of 8). That does not make it the best choice for everyone: look first at the criteria that matter to you.

Frequently asked questions

LM Studio or PyGPT: which is better?

PyGPT leads on more criteria (3 of 8). That does not make it the best choice for everyone: look first at the criteria that matter to you.

What is the main difference between LM Studio and PyGPT?

LM Studio leads on platforms (Windows, macOS, Linux, and API vs Windows, macOS, and Linux), PyGPT on data hosting (on device vs several regions).

Are LM Studio and PyGPT free?

Free tier: LM Studio, yes; PyGPT, yes.

Which one is cheaper?

Entry price: LM Studio, $20 per month; PyGPT, not published.

Which one protects my data better?

Data hosting: LM Studio, several regions; PyGPT, on device. For sensitive data, also check the publisher's data processing agreement.

What alternative to LM Studio and PyGPT?

In the same family: Ollama, Jan, and GPT4All.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score