FRENES

AI tools comparison

Mintlify vs PromptBase: 2026 comparison

Across 9 comparable criteria, Mintlify wins 1, PromptBase wins 1, with 7 ties. Mintlify leads on platforms; PromptBase on entry price.

9 criteria decided

Mintlify and PromptBase in brief

Mintlify and PromptBase share a developer tools category, but their immediate purposes differ. Mintlify helps you publish and maintain documentation, including an interactive reference, a reader assistant and an update agent. PromptBase helps you find, buy, sell and run prompts. The practical choice is therefore between a documentation environment and a marketplace for instructions. Both offer web access and an API, but that common ground does not make them substitutes. Start with the work you need to complete before comparing their prices.

Mintlify : Mintlify is for developers publishing and maintaining documentation. It supports interactive references built from OpenAPI, an assistant answering readers’ questions, documentation updates through an agent, and page exports.

PromptBase : PromptBase serves people searching for, buying, or selling prompts by model and use case. It also lets users run prompts with generation credits and commission custom work from creators.

They are often weighed against each other by people who hesitate. This page lines up their features point by point (10 criteria), with no partnership with either publisher.

Comparison table

Profile data, checked October 24, 2026.
CriterionMintlifyPromptBase
CategoryDeveloper toolsDeveloper tools
Websitemintlify.compromptbase.com
CountryUnited StatesUnited Kingdom
Launched20222022
Pricing modelfreemium (limited free use, then paid)freemium (limited free use, then paid)
Free tierYesYes
Entry price$450 per month$14 per month
Platformsweb browser, API, Slackweb browser, API
APIYesYes
Exportyes (details on the official site)Texte des prompts via le serveur MCP
Source codeclosedclosed
Site score71/10061/100

Criterion by criterion

For each criterion: why it matters, each one's value and who has the edge. A criterion without data on both sides is not decided.

Free tier

A free tier lets you test the tool on your own examples before paying anything. Mintlify : yes. PromptBase : yes. A tie on this point.

Entry price

The first paid plan, per month, gives the minimum cost of regular use; higher plans cost more. Mintlify : $450 per month. PromptBase : $14 per month. Edge: PromptBase.

Public API

An API lets you connect the tool to your software, an automation tool or an AI agent. Mintlify : yes. PromptBase : yes. A tie on this point.

Data export

Being able to get your content back avoids lock-in the day you want to switch tools. Mintlify : yes. PromptBase : yes. A tie on this point.

Data hosting

Where data is stored matters for GDPR and client data: the EU or local processing make compliance simpler. Mintlify : not disclosed. PromptBase : not disclosed. A tie on this point.

Interface languages

More interface languages make the tool easier to roll out across an international team. Mintlify : not published. PromptBase : 1. Cannot be decided: data missing on one side.

Platforms

The more platforms (web, desktop, mobile, extension), the better the tool fits your daily routine. Mintlify : web browser, API, and Slack. PromptBase : web browser and API. Edge: Mintlify.

Open source

Public code lets you audit the tool, self-host it and keep using it if the publisher changes course. Mintlify : no. PromptBase : no. A tie on this point.

Track record

A tool launched several years ago has a longer history: less risk of sudden shutdown, more user feedback. Mintlify : launched in 2022. PromptBase : launched in 2022. A tie on this point.

Recognition

The number of reference community lists citing the tool shows how well known it is among practitioners. Mintlify : cited in 2 lists. PromptBase : cited in 2 lists. A tie on this point.

In charts

Mintlify · AccessMintlify · Access : 25/3025/30PromptBase · AccessPromptBase · Access : 25/3025/30Mintlify · OpennessMintlify · Openness : 20/3020/30PromptBase · OpennessPromptBase · Openness : 20/3020/30Mintlify · TrustMintlify · Trust : 26/4026/40PromptBase · TrustPromptBase · Trust : 16/4016/40
Site score components, Mintlify in solid colour. The method is the same for all AI tools.
MintlifyMintlify : $5,400$5,400PromptBasePromptBase : $168$168
Entry price over 12 months, excluding tax and add-ons; one user.

Our analysis

Mintlify was launched in 2022 and is published by Mintlify, Inc. Its features revolve around delivering documentation: publishing a site, generating an interactive reference from OpenAPI, answering reader questions and updating content with an agent. Those functions address a continuing documentation responsibility. PromptBase, also launched in 2022, centers on prompts and their creators. You can search by model and purpose, buy or sell instructions, and commission custom work. It serves a different kind of developer need. One product organizes information for readers; the other connects users with prompts. Their shared category should therefore carry less weight than the intended outcome.

Both products use a freemium model and list a free offering, although the supplied information does not detail those allowances. Mintlify lists Pro at 450 USD per month. PromptBase lists Select at 14 USD per month with annual billing, or 19 USD when paid monthly. Prompts can also be purchased individually. The price gap does not compare equivalent services: maintaining documentation and obtaining prompts involve different deliverables. You need to establish which features matter before judging the cost. Mintlify's access and transparency score is 71, compared with 61 for PromptBase. These figures do not rate documentation quality or prompt performance.

Both products are closed source, and neither declares its hosting location in the supplied records. There is consequently no published location here on which to base a privacy comparison. Mintlify keeps documentation in MDX files and supports PDF and Markdown exports. Those formats provide ways to retrieve documentation content, although they do not make the application open source. PromptBase lists prompt text export through its MCP server. What you can retrieve reflects the different purpose of each product. The available facts do not describe retention policies, detailed processing conditions or confidentiality guarantees, so those aspects cannot be ranked from these records.

Mintlify is listed for the web, API and Slack. Its publication tools, reader assistant and update agent can support an ongoing documentation process. That combination matters when documentation is a regular part of your team's work. PromptBase offers web and API access, prompt execution through generation credits and custom requests to creators. Its everyday value depends on finding instructions that match a particular task. Mintlify's interface languages are not disclosed, while PromptBase lists one interface language without French. Neither record provides a common evaluation of answer quality. Your decision therefore rests on workflow fit and the published access conditions.

Depending on your situation

The right choice depends on use. For a few common situations, here are the criteria that matter and who wins (Mintlify value / PromptBase value).

Personal use on a tight budget

Here, PromptBase has the edge: it wins 1 of the 3 criteria that matter in this situation, namely free tier (yes / yes), entry price ($450 per month / $14 per month), and interface languages (not published / 1).

Business use with client data

Neither stands out on the criteria for this situation (data hosting (not disclosed / not disclosed), data export (yes / yes), and track record (launched in 2022 / launched in 2022)): decide with a trial.

Integration with your software

Here, Mintlify has the edge: it wins 1 of the 3 criteria that matter in this situation, namely public api (yes / yes), open source (no / no), and platforms (web browser, API, and Slack / web browser and API).

Which one to choose?

Choose Mintlify if…

  • you value platforms (web browser, API, and Slack)

Mintlify is a logical choice when you need to publish documentation and create an interactive reference from OpenAPI. Its reader assistant and update agent support that same documentation task. PDF and Markdown exports may also matter to your content process. Assess the free offering and the listed Pro price against the documentation work you actually need.

Choose PromptBase if…

  • you value entry price ($14 per month)

PromptBase fits a need to search for prompts, buy instructions or commission a creator. It also serves users who want to sell prompts or run them with generation credits. Its Select subscription pays for a different service from Mintlify, so evaluate it against the prompts you need and how you plan to obtain and use them.

Strengths and limits of each

Mintlify

  • + Free tier to try it
  • + Public API
  • + Established since 2022
  • − More expensive than its category median
  • − Data hosting not disclosed

PromptBase

  • + Free tier to try it
  • + Cheaper than its category median
  • + Public API
  • − Data hosting not disclosed

The best test is still yours: take three real tasks from your day and give them to both for a week.

What about the others?

If neither suits you, look at Firecrawl, LMQL, Keploy, Jina Reader, Metorial, and Metatron.

Related comparisons:

Conclusion

Choose by function before comparing subscription figures. Mintlify addresses documentation publishing and maintenance, while PromptBase addresses finding and exchanging prompts. They are not two pricing levels for the same outcome. A documentation site and interactive reference point toward Mintlify; a need for available or commissioned instructions points toward PromptBase. The supplied information does not establish a winner for privacy or the quality of generated answers in either product.

Verdict

A tie on criteria won (1 each): the choice depends on what matters most to you.

Frequently asked questions

Mintlify or PromptBase: which is better?

A tie on criteria won (1 each): the choice depends on what matters most to you.

What is the main difference between Mintlify and PromptBase?

Mintlify leads on platforms (web browser, API, and Slack vs web browser and API), PromptBase on entry price ($14 per month vs $450 per month).

Are Mintlify and PromptBase free?

Free tier: Mintlify, yes; PromptBase, yes.

Which one is cheaper?

Entry price: Mintlify, $450 per month; PromptBase, $14 per month. PromptBase is cheaper.

Which one protects my data better?

Data hosting: Mintlify, not disclosed; PromptBase, not disclosed. For sensitive data, also check the publisher's data processing agreement.

What alternative to Mintlify and PromptBase?

In the same family: Firecrawl, LMQL, and Keploy.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score