FRENES

Developer tools

Mintlify: review, pricing, data and alternatives

Mintlify is for developers publishing and maintaining documentation. It supports interactive references built from OpenAPI, an assistant answering readers’ questions, documentation updates through an agent, and page exports. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $450 per month. Access and transparency score: 71/100, #6 of 31 in its category.

Score
71/100
Access 25/30
Openness 20/30
Trust 26/40
Free tierAPIHosting not disclosed

What is Mintlify?

Mintlify is for developers publishing and maintaining documentation. It supports interactive references built from OpenAPI, an assistant answering readers’ questions, documentation updates through an agent, and page exports.

According to its documentation, Mintlify lets you:

  • publish a documentation website
  • create an interactive reference from OpenAPI
  • answer readers’ questions with an assistant
  • update documentation with an agent
  • export pages as PDF or Markdown

We file it under Developer tools, the category of tools to test, document and ship software, and it also overlaps with aI writing tools and customer service and website chatbots. The category lists 31 verified tools on this site.

The publisher is Mintlify, Inc., based in United States. The service launched in 2022, which gives it some track record.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: developers, content writers, and customer support. The need it covers is simple to state: test, document and ship software.

Mintlify is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying
  • you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API

The best test is a concrete case from your daily work: if the tool does not beat your current method within a week, move on to an alternative.

How much does Mintlify cost?

Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $450 per month (Pro, monthly price displayed on the pricing page), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is more expensive than the category median ($16.99 per month, based on tools with a published price).

CredytCredyt : $1$1SQLAI.aiSQLAI.ai : $9$9PrismixPrismix : $10$10PromptBasePromptBase : $14$14FirecrawlFirecrawl : $16$16KeployKeploy : $19$19TestSpriteTestSprite : $19$19CodeRabbitCodeRabbit : $24$24MetorialMetorial : $250$250MintlifyMintlify : $450$450
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12). Sample of 12 tools out of 19.

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

Exporting your content: yes (details on the official site). Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

Mintlify runs on: web browser, API, and Slack.

Interface languages are not specified.

A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.

How we scored it

Our 71/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

Mintlify score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness20/30API, data export, open code
Trust26/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
FirecrawlFirecrawl : 8383LMQLLMQL : 8181KeployKeploy : 7878Jina ReaderJina Reader : 7373MetorialMetorial : 7373MintlifyMintlify : 7171MetatronMetatron : 6868PagerlyPagerly : 6868HyperbrowserHyperbrowser : 6363RepomixRepomix : 6363
Mintlify ranks #6 of 31. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

Mintlify against other tools in the developer tools category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
MintlifyYes$450 per monthYes71
FirecrawlYes$16 per monthYes83
LMQLYesnot publishedYes81
KeployYes$19 per monthYes78
Jina ReaderYes$50 pay as you goYes73
MetorialYes$250 per monthYes73
MetatronYesnot publishedYes68
PagerlyYes$19 per monthYes68

Verdict

Mintlify is among the most accessible and transparent tools in its category.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Public API
  • Established since 2022

Limitations

  • More expensive than its category median
  • Data hosting not disclosed

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement

Frequently asked questions

Is Mintlify free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $450 per month.

Where is Mintlify data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does Mintlify have an API?

Yes, a public API is documented.

What are the alternatives to Mintlify?

In the same category: Firecrawl, LMQL, Keploy, and Jina Reader.

Mintlify or Firecrawl: which one to choose?

Mintlify starts at $450 per month, Firecrawl at $16 per month and our score is 71/100 for Mintlify and 83/100 for Firecrawl. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score