FRENES

Developer tools

PromptBase: review, pricing, data and alternatives

PromptBase serves people searching for, buying, or selling prompts by model and use case. It also lets users run prompts with generation credits and commission custom work from creators. A free tier exists; the first paid plan costs $14 per month. Access and transparency score: 61/100, #11 of 31 in its category.

Free tierAPIHosting not disclosed

What is PromptBase?

PromptBase serves people searching for, buying, or selling prompts by model and use case. It also lets users run prompts with generation credits and commission custom work from creators.

According to its documentation, PromptBase lets you:

  • search for prompts by model and use case
  • buy and sell prompts
  • run prompts with generation credits
  • commission custom work from a creator

We file it under Developer tools, the category of tools to test, document and ship software, and it also overlaps with aI image generators and aI app builders. The category lists 31 verified tools on this site.

The service launched in 2022, which gives it some track record.

Who is it for?

It is mostly useful to these profiles: developers, graphic designers, marketers, and freelancers. The need it covers is simple to state: test, document and ship software.

PromptBase is a good candidate if:

  • you want to try before paying
  • you plan to connect it to your tools or automations through its API

Before deciding, run a trial on a real task and measure the time saved: it is the only criterion that really counts.

How much does PromptBase cost?

Pricing model: freemium (limited free use, then paid). A free plan is offered, usually limited in volume or features.

The first paid plan costs $14 per month (Select, monthly equivalent with annual billing; USD 19 when paying monthly. Prompts can also be purchased individually), according to the pricing page, checked on October 24, 2026.

Per month, that is cheaper than the category median ($16.99 per month, based on tools with a published price).

CredytCredyt : $1$1SQLAI.aiSQLAI.ai : $9$9PrismixPrismix : $10$10PromptBasePromptBase : $14$14ChatWithCloudChatWithCloud : $15.83$15.83No-Code ScraperNo-Code Scraper : $16.99$16.99PagerlyPagerly : $19$19CodeflashCodeflash : $20$20HyperbrowserHyperbrowser : $30$30Artificial AnalysisArtificial Analysis : $417$417
First paid plan, per month (dollars or euros, annual plans divided by 12). Sample of 12 tools out of 19.

To estimate what the same work would cost done directly with an AI model, use our API price calculator. Prices change often: always check the official site before subscribing.

Data and privacy

The publisher does not clearly state where data is hosted. Assume your content may leave your region.

For professional use, check that a data processing agreement (DPA) is offered, and do not send customers' personal data or confidential documents without one.

Exporting your content: Texte des prompts via le serveur MCP. Being able to get your data back makes switching tools easier later.

Three habits apply to every AI tool:

  • turn off the use of your content for training if the option exists
  • use a work account separate from your personal account
  • review everything the tool produces before publishing or sending it

Platforms, languages and API

PromptBase runs on: web browser and API.

Interface languages: English.

A public API lets you call it from your own programs or an automation tool, and plug it into an AI agent.

How we scored it

Our 61/100 score does not judge output quality: it measures what can be publicly verified about access to the tool, its openness and how far the publisher can be trusted.

PromptBase score breakdown
CriterionPointsWhat counts
Access25/30free tier, published price, French interface
Openness20/30API, data export, open code
Trust16/40identified publisher, declared hosting, age, presence in reference lists
FirecrawlFirecrawl : 8383LMQLLMQL : 8181KeployKeploy : 7878Jina ReaderJina Reader : 7373MetorialMetorial : 7373MintlifyMintlify : 7171MetatronMetatron : 6868PagerlyPagerly : 6868HyperbrowserHyperbrowser : 6363RepomixRepomix : 6363PromptBasePromptBase : 6161
PromptBase ranks #11 of 31. The category's top ten are shown.

The full calculation is explained on our method page.

Comparison with alternatives

PromptBase against other tools in the developer tools category:

Comparison within the category
ToolFreeEntry priceAPIScore
PromptBaseYes$14 per monthYes61
FirecrawlYes$16 per monthYes83
LMQLYesnot publishedYes81
KeployYes$19 per monthYes78
Jina ReaderYes$50 pay as you goYes73
MetorialYes$250 per monthYes73
MintlifyYes$450 per monthYes71
MetatronYesnot publishedYes68

Verdict

PromptBase is a decent option; compare its price and terms with the category leaders.

Strengths

  • Free tier to try it
  • Cheaper than its category median
  • Public API
  • Established since 2022

Limitations

  • Data hosting not disclosed

Avoid if…

  • You handle sensitive personal data without a processing agreement

Frequently asked questions

Is PromptBase free?

Yes, a free plan exists, with usage limits. The first paid plan costs $14 per month.

Where is PromptBase data stored?

The publisher does not clearly say so in its public documentation.

Does PromptBase have an API?

Yes, a public API is documented.

What are the alternatives to PromptBase?

In the same category: Firecrawl, LMQL, Keploy, and Jina Reader.

PromptBase or Firecrawl: which one to choose?

PromptBase starts at $14 per month, Firecrawl at $16 per month and our score is 61/100 for PromptBase and 83/100 for Firecrawl. Try both on the same task before paying.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score