FRENES

AI tools comparison

OpenClaw vs BrainSoup: 2026 comparison

Across 7 comparable criteria, OpenClaw wins 4, BrainSoup wins 1, with 2 ties. OpenClaw leads on free tier, interface languages, and platforms; BrainSoup on track record.

7 criteria decidedEdge: OpenClaw

OpenClaw and BrainSoup in brief

OpenClaw and BrainSoup both let you organize work around AI agents, but they offer different starting points. OpenClaw centers on an assistant controlled through messaging, with browser actions and memory between conversations. BrainSoup emphasizes specialized agents working together on Windows, with document access and action automation. Both list local data hosting. The practical question is whether you need an assistant across several environments or a collection of specialized agents focused on work within your Windows computer.

OpenClaw : OpenClaw lets people control an assistant from a messaging service. It can perform browser actions, read and prepare emails, and retain a memory between conversations with users.

BrainSoup : BrainSoup lets Windows users create agents with specialized roles and have them work together. Agents can access user documents and automate Windows actions, with support for local models through Ollama.

Both meet the same need, which makes the comparison useful. We compare them on 10 verifiable criteria, using the same data as their profiles, collected from official sites.

Comparison table

Profile data, checked October 24, 2026.
CriterionOpenClawBrainSoup
CategoryAI agent buildersAI agent builders
Websiteopenclaw.ainurgo-software.com
PublisherOpenClaw FoundationNurgo Software
CountryUnited StatesFrance
Launched20252023
Pricing modelopen source (public code)paid
Free tierYesNo
Platformsweb browser, Windows, macOS, Linux, iPhone and iPad, Android, Slack, Microsoft TeamsWindows
Languages22 languagesEnglish
Data hostingOn your device (local processing)On your device (local processing)
Source codepublicclosed
Site score71/10046/100

Criterion by criterion

For each criterion: why it matters, each one's value and who has the edge. A criterion without data on both sides is not decided.

Free tier

A free tier lets you test the tool on your own examples before paying anything. OpenClaw : yes. BrainSoup : no. Edge: OpenClaw.

Entry price

The first paid plan, per month, gives the minimum cost of regular use; higher plans cost more. OpenClaw : not published. BrainSoup : $5 per month. Cannot be decided: data missing on one side.

Public API

An API lets you connect the tool to your software, an automation tool or an AI agent. OpenClaw : not disclosed. BrainSoup : not disclosed. Cannot be decided: data missing on one side.

Data export

Being able to get your content back avoids lock-in the day you want to switch tools. OpenClaw : yes. BrainSoup : not disclosed. Cannot be decided: data missing on one side.

Data hosting

Where data is stored matters for GDPR and client data: the EU or local processing make compliance simpler. OpenClaw : on device. BrainSoup : on device. A tie on this point.

Interface languages

More interface languages make the tool easier to roll out across an international team. OpenClaw : 22. BrainSoup : 1. Edge: OpenClaw.

Platforms

The more platforms (web, desktop, mobile, extension), the better the tool fits your daily routine. OpenClaw : web browser, Windows, macOS, Linux, iPhone and iPad, Android, Slack, and Microsoft Teams. BrainSoup : Windows. Edge: OpenClaw.

Open source

Public code lets you audit the tool, self-host it and keep using it if the publisher changes course. OpenClaw : yes. BrainSoup : no. Edge: OpenClaw.

Track record

A tool launched several years ago has a longer history: less risk of sudden shutdown, more user feedback. OpenClaw : launched in 2025. BrainSoup : launched in 2023. Edge: BrainSoup.

Recognition

The number of reference community lists citing the tool shows how well known it is among practitioners. OpenClaw : cited in 2 lists. BrainSoup : cited in 2 lists. A tie on this point.

In charts

OpenClaw · AccessOpenClaw · Access : 20/3020/30BrainSoup · AccessBrainSoup · Access : 10/3010/30OpenClaw · OpennessOpenClaw · Openness : 20/3020/30BrainSoup · OpennessBrainSoup · Openness : 0/300/30OpenClaw · TrustOpenClaw · Trust : 31/4031/40BrainSoup · TrustBrainSoup · Trust : 36/4036/40
Site score components, OpenClaw in solid colour. The method is the same for all AI tools.

Our analysis

Launched in 2025 by OpenClaw Foundation, OpenClaw describes an assistant you control from a messaging service. Its listed functions include browser actions, reading and preparing emails, and retaining memory between conversations. That feature set points toward continuity around one assistant handling different types of task. BrainSoup, launched in 2023 by Nurgo Software, focuses instead on specialized roles and cooperation between several agents. It provides document access and Windows action automation. The distinction concerns how you organize the work: maintaining an ongoing assistant relationship or assigning tasks across cooperating roles. The descriptions do not establish which approach performs those tasks more reliably.

OpenClaw is listed as open source and has a free offering, but no entry price is published. That leaves any paid access conditions and overall installation costs unquantified in these records. BrainSoup is paid software with no free offering. Access requires Nurgo AI Starter at 5 USD per month, with Lite models only at that subscription level. The supplied information does not detail the respective usage limits. OpenClaw scores 71 out of 100 for access and transparency, compared with 46 for BrainSoup. These figures describe that assessment framework and should not be treated as measures of agent performance.

Both records declare local hosting. BrainSoup additionally lists support for local models through Ollama, while OpenClaw provides open source code and HTML and JSONL exports. BrainSoup keeps its code closed, and its export options are not published. API availability is unspecified for both products. These details help you compare openness and documented ways to recover data, but they do not amount to complete confidentiality policies. OpenClaw’s persistent memory is a listed feature, although retention and deletion arrangements are not described. Likewise, local hosting alone does not establish the path of every data exchange in every possible configuration of either product.

OpenClaw lists web, Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, Android, Slack and Teams. Its interface supports 22 languages, including French and Spanish. That breadth may matter if your routine spans devices and messaging environments, although identical functionality across all platforms is not established. BrainSoup lists Windows only and one interface language, which does not include French. Its specialized agents and Ollama support may suit work concentrated on that operating system. Detailed action controls are not supplied for either product. Everyday suitability therefore depends on the tasks described, your actual platforms and the language information available, rather than platform coverage by itself.

Depending on your situation

The right choice depends on use. For a few common situations, here are the criteria that matter and who wins (OpenClaw value / BrainSoup value).

Personal use on a tight budget

Here, OpenClaw has the edge: it wins 2 of the 3 criteria that matter in this situation, namely free tier (yes / no), entry price (not published / $5 per month), and interface languages (22 / 1).

Business use with client data

Here, BrainSoup has the edge: it wins 1 of the 3 criteria that matter in this situation, namely data hosting (on device / on device), data export (yes / not disclosed), and track record (launched in 2025 / launched in 2023).

Integration with your software

Here, OpenClaw has the edge: it wins 2 of the 3 criteria that matter in this situation, namely public api (not disclosed / not disclosed), open source (yes / no), and platforms (web browser, Windows, macOS, Linux, iPhone and iPad, Android, Slack, and Microsoft Teams / Windows).

Which one to choose?

Choose OpenClaw if…

  • you value free tier (yes)
  • you value interface languages (22)
  • you value platforms (web browser, Windows, macOS, Linux, iPhone and iPad, Android, Slack, and Microsoft Teams)
  • you value open source (yes)

OpenClaw makes sense if you want an assistant controlled through messaging, with continuity across conversations. Browser actions and email preparation fit that pattern. Its broad platform list, French and Spanish interfaces, open source code and exports may also influence your decision. A free offering is listed, but the entry price and API availability remain unpublished in the supplied information.

Choose BrainSoup if…

  • you value track record (launched in 2023)

BrainSoup fits a Windows workflow in which several specialized agents share tasks. Document access, Windows automation and local models through Ollama are its documented reasons for consideration. Its entry subscription has a stated price, but is mandatory and limited to Lite models. The lack of French and missing information about exports may also affect whether it suits your routine.

Strengths and limits of each

OpenClaw

  • + Free tier to try it
  • + Public source code
  • + Local processing available

BrainSoup

  • + Cheaper than its category median
  • + Local processing available
  • + Established since 2023
  • − No free tier
  • − Data export not documented

The best test is still yours: take three real tasks from your day and give them to both for a week.

What about the others?

If neither suits you, look at Dify, Agenta, AutoGen, Hermes Agent, Mastra, and Botpress.

Related comparisons:

Conclusion

OpenClaw points toward a persistent assistant available through messaging and several platforms. BrainSoup focuses on coordinated specialist agents within Windows. Both declare local hosting, which does not by itself establish their full privacy arrangements. Choose according to your tasks, devices and need for open code or exports. BrainSoup’s published subscription and OpenClaw’s free offering provide useful access information, but do not establish a complete comparison of ongoing operating costs.

Verdict

OpenClaw leads on more criteria (4 of 7). That does not make it the best choice for everyone: look first at the criteria that matter to you.

Frequently asked questions

OpenClaw or BrainSoup: which is better?

OpenClaw leads on more criteria (4 of 7). That does not make it the best choice for everyone: look first at the criteria that matter to you.

What is the main difference between OpenClaw and BrainSoup?

OpenClaw leads on free tier (yes vs no), BrainSoup on track record (launched in 2023 vs launched in 2025).

Are OpenClaw and BrainSoup free?

Free tier: OpenClaw, yes; BrainSoup, no.

Which one is cheaper?

Entry price: OpenClaw, not published; BrainSoup, $5 per month.

Which one protects my data better?

Data hosting: OpenClaw, on device; BrainSoup, on device. For sensitive data, also check the publisher's data processing agreement.

What alternative to OpenClaw and BrainSoup?

In the same family: Dify, Agenta, and AutoGen.

Related articles

Neutrality. No affiliate links. No vendor pays to be reviewed, rated or ranked. Reviews are directed by François Chollet, neutral and factual, and every data point is dated and sourced. How we score